We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful second visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corriegour Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Corriegour Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Loch Lochy | By Fort William, Spean Bridge PH34 4EA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Spean Bridge
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful second visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Just back from a lovely stay at the Corriegour. The food was outstanding and was the reason for our stay .... we still speak about the standard of food at our last visit ten years ago ... certainly didn't disappoint! Views from the dining room are stunning and the service spot on. Definitely won't be ten years before our next visit!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    21
    14
    5
    5
See reviews for
27
56
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Myself and my (now) wife recently (October 2013) stayed at the lodge during our honey moon. It was just what we had hoped... we were given a very warm welcome and throughout the stay, all the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The lodge is reasonably small, and very cosy... we spend evenings by the fire in the lounge, with a nice selection of drinks. The food was exceptional.....we have eaten at some top restaurants and some of the courses we were served here were the best we have ever tasted. The breakfast were also very good, particularly the Scottish black pudding! Eating with a view of the loch made the experience even more gratifying. In terms of the area, it is well situated (Fort William was only a 20 minute drive away), although a car is really required. Will definitely be back,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I'll start on a positive note by saying that the food was great and that the restaurant experience was overall a pleasant one. The rest of the experience, however, was not commensurate with a 4 star. The rooms themselves are dramatically overpriced for what you get, being more 2 or 3 star. Beware that this hotel is one of those that charge on a per person per night basis, and so the tariff for two people in a room is quite elevated to say the least. The rooms are nicely decorated but suffer from multiple problems: the light isolation is extremely poor as the curtains are very thin and unlined. Our room also had non-existent water pressure meaning that taking a shower was an exercise in patience and frustration as the water literally trickled out of the shower head. The wifi, as the proprietor never stops reminding the guests, is not great and does not havea very high maximum data cap. In fact, she goes on and on about this so much that you feel guilty about even checking your messages, nevermind browsing a web page. Furthermore, they turn the wifi off at night, so forget about using it until morning. To add insult to injury, my girlfriend was taking a couple of souvenier photos in the public areas of the hotel (downstairs bar / sitting room and reception) and was told to stop doing so by the proprietor with the excuse that it's her private home and she doesn't like photos. Forgive me, but when you're running a hotel that is open to the public, telling your guests not to take photos in the public areas seems a little out of touch. The overwhelming impression I had was of a highly reluctant proprietor. I wouldn't stay here again although I'd gladly recommend the restaurant if you're looking for somewhere to dine.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Strengths: Efficient booking system. Welcome was ok but a smile from hotel manager reception would have been good. The lounge and bar was comfortable. There were lots of interesting things in the lounge (good reading material etc). We dined at the hotel. The food was amazing - so well done for that. The view from the restaurant was fantastic. The waterfall at the back of the hotel is fab. The room was pleasantly decorated. The bed mattress was excellent. Good choices of coffee/tea supplied in the room. Room was clean. The breakfast was good. The waitress was very pleasant, warm and courteous. She smiled alot (perhaps a learning hint for hotel manager). Also location is fantastic.

Weaknesses: The room was a little cramped. Too much furniture for a small room. We had a twim room. The bedding was feather - so pillows were too soft for us. The shower was very weak. We are used to power showers. The grounds really need tidying up. The bins in the hotel entrance (near cottage) was unslightly and smelled. The hotel may want to consider screening the bins.Also not a pretty sight for old flower pots to be thrown near the back of the hotel. Infact anywhere where guests have access needs to be kept tidy/immaculate. Breakfast fruit could have been more ripe. Not sure why black pudding was crumbly? Guests had access to free internet but only in the lounge area. Would have liked internet access in the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

went here for dinner last month with my family & canadian family. i am wheat & dairy intolerant and with only a few hours notice the chef made me a wonderful 4 course meal. this was the best meal of our trip and the best duck i have ever tasted!!
a truly wonerful experience lovely staff and surroundings can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

What an utterly fantastic experience! This family run hotel is a superbly located hideaway set in some of the most spectacular scenery imaginable. Every detail was perfect. A warm welcome from extremely helpful, attentive and friendly staff set the tone for our stay which was faultless from start to finish. There is a real passion for service evident here.
The rooms are beautiful and the views breathtaking (the "loch view supplement" is definitely worthwhile). The food was absolutely divine and with the restaurant overlooking Loch Lochy as the sun goes down, dinner was truly memorable. Afterwards, retire to the lounge for coffee and a sampling of the bar's extensive collection of local whisky in front of a log fire - absolute bliss.
The hotel also benefits from its own private beach; perfect for a romantic stroll or simply to take in the fresh Highland air and stunning scenery. Really loved this place and will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Definitely worth paying the small "loch view supplement" to get the most out of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My partner and I spent just two nights at Corriegour Lodge Hotel but would have stayed more if we could have. The staff - all of them - were so helpful and welcoming. James was just great and went out of his way to ensure our stay was a pleasant one. Ian, owner and chef, was also so friendly and welcoming and the food was simply amazing. Our room was a good size and well appointed with wardrobe and dresser and the bed firm but very comfortable.

The hotel is magical. It is in the most amazing location with an incredible view of Loch Lochy from the dining room. Our room didn't share that view but it really didn't matter. The furnishings are an eclectic mix of old world charm that really work to make the place so warm and inviting. We just felt so at home staying there. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel and will fondly remember our time there.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Corriegour Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corriegour Lodge Hotel

Address: Loch Lochy | By Fort William, Spean Bridge PH34 4EA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Spean Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Corriegour Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corriegour Lodge Hotel Accommodation, situated in one of the most beautiful sections of the Great Glen in the Highlands of Scotland - between Spean Bridge and Loch Ness - is the Highland holiday retreat you've been looking for. Just a short drive from Fort William and an ideal place to stay. On the road to the island of Skye, Corriegour Lodge Hotel is the perfect central base for touring The Highlands. The hotel accommodation enjoys outstanding views over Loch Lochy and has its own jetty. In our Loch View Hotel Restaurant you will be served the finest produce from the Scottish Highlands' rich natural larder, King Scallops,Aberdeen Angus Beef, Mouthwatering Home made breads and puddings from our ever changing daily menu which has earned us the Scottish tourist boards "Eat Scotland" Silver award and Michelin Recommended.The Great Glen is a geological fault-line cutting right across Scotland from Inverness in the east to Fort William in the west, famed for its wild and dramatic scenery. Along its length runs the Caledonian Canal, which links east and west coasts via a sequence of lochs including the famous Loch Ness and our own Loch Lochy. It is an ideal place for walking, cycling, pony-trekking, climbing, fishing, sailing and other watersports. Explore the hotel grounds and accommodation and see Spean Bridge, Loch Lochy and the surrounding Highlands area for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Corriegour Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corriegour Hotel Spean Bridge
Corriegour Hotel Fort William
Corriegour Lodge Hotel Spean Bridge, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corriegour Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.