We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Highland Locale” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Corriegour Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Corriegour Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Loch Lochy | By Fort William, Spean Bridge PH34 4EA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Spean Bridge
Virginia Beach, Va.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Highland Locale”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The Corriegour is situated in an idyllic spot on Loch Lochy. Warm greetings and attention from
Ian,James and Christian were appreciated. I stayed for six nights while I toured many areas
including inner Hebridean islands Loch Ness and the spectacular countryside. My room was cozy
but really needed an upgrade in furniture. Not easily adapted to by an American with needs for
outlets for hairdryer and curling iron. The food was wonderful. I had dinner one evening and it
surpassed my expectations. An unexpected meeting with a member of the Royal family topped
off the stay as an experience I will never forget.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    21
    14
    5
    5
See reviews for
27
56
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fife
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed for only one evening so our experience is limited. We found this hotel to be run very professionally and enjoyed dinner. The dining room itself is very attractive with fine views. The size of the hotel and the layout make it useful if you are prepared to treat this as "a house party" and enjoy the company of fellow guests before and after dinner. Certainly the staff were friendly and efficient. Our room was a bit small but the hotel knew we only needed it for one night so perhaps had we been staying longer we would have been allocated a larger room with a view. This is a good option for those looking for a convenient base between Fort William and Inverness and with access to points north south east and west. This will be a quiet and relaxing base to return to at the end of a long day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the loch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Situated between Fort William and Fort Augustus with views of Loch Lochy to die for. Corriegour Lodge Hotel is a sweet country house hotel, a family business. All are helpful and friendly. My wife and I stayed two nights to allow us to enjoy the local scenery. The food was excellent of the highest quality. They did not quite get the breakfast together, however, when it arrived it was good. Some money will need to be spent on the upkeep of the house.

Room Tip: We had a 1st floor room overlooking the loch. It also overlooked the A82 but we did not find it nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed at the Corriegour with my girlfriend for two nights. The journey into the highlands, with its breathtaking views left us with high hopes for our weekend at the Corriegour Lodge and we were not disappointed.

We were met with the warmest welcome and instantly felt at home. Our room was very comfortable and we had a lovely view of a small waterfall out of the bedroom and a stunning view of Loch Lochy from our bathroom.

We had dinner in the restaurant on the Friday night and the menu choice was fantastic. We enjoyed a pre dinner drink in the lounge by the fire before being shown to our table in the dining room. The dining room is lovely with a sense of occasion but very relaxed and again the views of Loch Lochy are stunning.

Dinner was just as delicious as it sounded on the menu, my girlfriend and I both recommend the Sticky Toffee Pudding for those with a sweet tooth. After dinner, we were back in the lounge for coffee which was the perfect way to round off the evening.

In the morning there was a good selection for breakfast which we both made the most off before heading off on our days walking. The staff at the lodge recommended Glen Nevis for our days walk and we were glad they did as we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

We had a lovely, relaxing time at the Corriegour. The Lodge and setting are fantastic but it is the warm welcome and service that we experienced that really set it apart from other places we have stayed. We were made to feel like we were very welcome friends of the manager and staff who were genuine and attentive in their care.

Thank you to all at the Corriegour for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We booked into the restaurant for my wife's 50th birthday and could 't have asked for a better setting. The service was perfectly pitched, warm, polite and unobtrusive and the food was of an extremely good standard and well worth the £50 per head for the 5 course meal. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed here for the Jubilee long weekend in June with our two young children aged 2 and 3 and our parents. While there was nothing out of the ordinary provided for the children I would recommend it as a place that accommodates them well because the management are just so wonderfully understanding. It seemed that nothing was too much trouble and we felt very well looked after. Ian also has a little baby of his own now so I expect that understanding and amenity will only increase.

Make no mistake, this is not a luxury lodge and yes, it is a little weary... or shall we say rustic? But it is totally charming, not pretentious and beautifully peaceful. Our room furnishings were a little dated but the room was big and well set-up to house us and the children. Think of it as a simple family-run guesthouse or B&B and you won't be at all disappointed. This is certainly the category of accommodation the prices put it in, however many aspects of the experience are way out of that league.

The food is fabulous, with an ever-changing menu and OUTSTANDING breakfasts. The homemade yoghurt was divine and the traditional smoked scottish fish and porridge were perfect. We had room service for the children and a lovely 3+ course meal every night in the restaurant. I believe from our experience they are equal to or better than many one-starred restaurants.

There is a waterfall at the side of the lodge which was too cold for the kids to play in (and the path was blocked by some debris from a recent storm) and a pebbly beach on the loch across the road which would have provided some entertainment for our little ones if it hadn't have been so bitterly windy. I don't think there's much you can do about the Scottish weather though! There's also a nice patch of lawn which gets the afternoon sun and kept the children amused as a place for rolling around and somersaulting one afternoon while we had a drink. There are beautiful walks close by (including directly from the lodge although it was blocked by the storm debris when we were there), but I don't think you could expect children under 5 to walk them.

My only word of warning is that it is very remote, so if you would like to dine at various restaurants (why you would is beyond me!) then you will be driving a long way home on dark roads. Come equipped with any unusual supplies you're likely to need too as the supermarket is a bit of a mission.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This is amazing,when you walk in it has a hunting lodge feel to it and you are made to feel very welcome. We got lost and were over half an hour late for dinner but nothing was too much bother we got shown to our bedroom where although we didnt have a Loch view the bedroom window overlooked the garden and the little waterfall which was lovely to hear.
We went down for dinner and we were both starving and whilst some people have moaned about prices and 5 courses( um it does tell you all this before you book!!) i can honestly say we had probably the best dinner ever and i am really fussy the food was amazing!! The wine was like velvet!! Owned by a lovely family who were more than happy to chat even if it was late!!
We both slept well and went down to the most amazing breakfast cooked fresh fish< traditional Scottish breakfast, fresh fruit, dried fruit and nuts, compote,and more.This rivalled probably most of the 5 star hotels i have stayed in!!!
We both had an unforgettable night!! thankyou so much the food was amazing and the view of he Loch was beautiful!!

Room Tip: If you want a Loch view book early sadly i booked late but the dining room made up fo it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Corriegour Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corriegour Lodge Hotel

Address: Loch Lochy | By Fort William, Spean Bridge PH34 4EA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Spean Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Corriegour Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corriegour Lodge Hotel Accommodation, situated in one of the most beautiful sections of the Great Glen in the Highlands of Scotland - between Spean Bridge and Loch Ness - is the Highland holiday retreat you've been looking for. Just a short drive from Fort William and an ideal place to stay. On the road to the island of Skye, Corriegour Lodge Hotel is the perfect central base for touring The Highlands. The hotel accommodation enjoys outstanding views over Loch Lochy and has its own jetty. In our Loch View Hotel Restaurant you will be served the finest produce from the Scottish Highlands' rich natural larder, King Scallops,Aberdeen Angus Beef, Mouthwatering Home made breads and puddings from our ever changing daily menu which has earned us the Scottish tourist boards "Eat Scotland" Silver award and Michelin Recommended.The Great Glen is a geological fault-line cutting right across Scotland from Inverness in the east to Fort William in the west, famed for its wild and dramatic scenery. Along its length runs the Caledonian Canal, which links east and west coasts via a sequence of lochs including the famous Loch Ness and our own Loch Lochy. It is an ideal place for walking, cycling, pony-trekking, climbing, fishing, sailing and other watersports. Explore the hotel grounds and accommodation and see Spean Bridge, Loch Lochy and the surrounding Highlands area for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Corriegour Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corriegour Hotel Spean Bridge
Corriegour Hotel Fort William
Corriegour Lodge Hotel Spean Bridge, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corriegour Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.