We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Masterchef, eat your heart out!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Russell's Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Russell's Restaurant
Smiddy House, Spean Bridge PH34 4EU, Scotland
01397 712335
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Spean Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $43 - $57
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Serving outstanding cuisine with fresh local game and a selection of seasonal produce, Russell's is an AA award winning restaurant incorporated with the Smiddy House at Spean Bridge near Fort William. Once you have experienced the fine dining in our relaxed environment you may be tempted to stay a while!
Culcheth
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Masterchef, eat your heart out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Superb ambience, friendly well trained staff and a varied menu changed daily. The scallops and black pudding starter was outstanding and the haunch of venison main was to die for. Prices exceptional for this quality.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    23
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“One of the best steaks I have ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

I came to Russell's after walking the first section of the Great Glen Way from Fort William to Inverness. I was very fortunate to be able to get a table on a Saturday night.

I chose to have a Rib-eye steak cooked to medium, with hand cut chips, fried potato rings, mushrooms and cherry tomatoes, with sauce. It was absolutely fantastic - steak cooked to perfection, wonderful mushrooms ( I am not a great fan, but these wet delicious), and excellent onions. My clean plate was a clear signal of my opinion.

Dessert was a Plum & Ginger pudding with sticky toffee sauce. Wow! Another all time best.

If you are near Fort William, you must try this place. The food rocks!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had dinner there when we stoppped over in Spean Bridge as part of our Great Glan Way walking holiday. It was FAB! Robert the front of house man was just lovely, made us feel we were in his house. Food and wine was lovely cant praise this place enough!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spean Bridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Everything you want it to be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I am a local but what can I say about Russel's it is a place to go with family and friends for dinner on that special day or just with that someone special for that romantic night out. amongst the flickering candles and cosy atmosphere you can eat the finest local produce prepaired wonderfully and its served by Robert and his staff you really are made to feel special.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Superb food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

This is a superb restaurant (with rooms). My wife and I, and two other couples, stayed a weekend here while on a cycling trip. The host Robert is a charming, funny and very welcoming chap. Nothing was too much trouble for him to enhance our weekend. The chef, Glen, is a highly skilled chef. The food is unpretentious, beautifully presented and totally delicious. It is no wonder the restaurant was full both nights. Highlight of breakfast was the freshly baked croissants. Well done chaps, you have a fine place here.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Russell's Restaurant also viewed

Spean Bridge, Scottish Highlands
Spean Bridge, Scottish Highlands
 
Spean Bridge, Scottish Highlands
Fort William, Lochaber
 

Been to Russell's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Russell's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.