We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A different experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Station Restaurant

Old Station Restaurant
Station Road | Inverness-shire, Spean Bridge PH34 4EF, Scotland
+44 1397 712535
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: At the Old Station Restaurant & Bar we offer great locally sourced food at reasonable prices. Dine in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere, in the unique setting of a converted Victorian railway station on the world famous West Highland Line. We are located at Spean Bridge station where the Commandos began their training during the Second World War. Relax beside the fire in our public bar and enjoy local real ales. We are the only bar in the village serving real ale on draught. We also have a good selection of malt whisky and wine. Children are very welcome ... And we even have a special menu for the wee ones!
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A different experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Old Station Restaurant is situated parrallel to the railway track and if you are fortunate as we were to see the train pull in a few yards from the windows it will add to the atmosphere of dinning here. The food is of a very good quality if not just a wee bit pricy but overall a very good place to eat.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    104
    45
    11
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“exellent food, service and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

found this little gem while staying two nights in spean bridge on a friday night, had to wait an hour for our table but was well worth the wait thanks to Ben the chef and his team had a great evening. regards Mike and Darren.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice Setting & Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The restaurant is housed within the main building of the train station - we watched the occasional train pass as we enjoyed a good meal. There was a nice atmosphere in the place and the staff were friendly, the service was excellent throughout the evening.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“What a hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We recently spent a night in Spean Bridge and ate at the Old Station-a real "Hidden Gem". It was recommended by the owners of our B&B and we'd also seen the good reviews on Trip. We weren't disappointed. The food was cooked perfectly, served by amazingly friendly staff.Good food, interesting decor in converted railway station with real trains still stopping whilst we were dining in the Restaurant, formerly the waiting Room & Station Booking office & decorated in Railway Memorabilia. The wine was great and reasonably priced the setting is fantastic ;after a few glasses I began to rehearse my lines from "Brief Encounter"!.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The Old Station Restaurant is well worth a visit. Although the restaurant now occupies the main building, Spean Bridge is still a working railway station so you can watch the trains passing while having your meal. Railway buffs will also love the display of old photographs and memorabilia.

Our visit was on a pouring wet Thursday evening and the restaurant was doing brisk trade. We were glad we'd phoned ahead to book a table. The food was excellent and reasonable value. My wife had chicken and I had vegetarian parcels both of which were delicious and well presented. The staff are very pleasant and efficient although they do suffer from the universal malady of "Is everything OK-itis" which gets a tad wearing after a while. Trust me, if the food isn't OK I'll soon tell you!

Probably the best thing of all was the absence of piped music. I don't know if we were just lucky but it was wonderful being able to enjoy our meal without this pestilence and the Old Station gets a big gold star for it. That said, towards the end of our meal the peace was shattered by a hideous racket of electric guitars from the bar area. I have no idea who was trying to play what but it didn't resemble any piece of music I know. Fortunately we were on the point of paying the bill when it started so we weren't badly affected and it was the only downside to an otherwise hugely enjoyable experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Station Restaurant also viewed

Spean Bridge, Scottish Highlands
Spean Bridge, Scottish Highlands
 
Spean Bridge, Scottish Highlands
Fort William, Lochaber
 

Been to Old Station Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Station Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.