We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spean Lodge

Save Saved
You added Spean Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Spean Lodge
Spean Bridge, Spean Bridge PH34 4EP, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 Spean Bridge B&B and Inns
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

This is a brilliant B&B and we throughly enjoyed our stay. We only stayed for one night as we used this as a stopover as we travelled further north. We would definitely consider returning and staying for longer to explore the area.

Glen and Suzanne are both excellent hosts. They were very helpful in recommending local restaurants and places of interest. Also, on the day of departure Glen suggested some good stops for photo opportunities of spectacular views as we travelled north.

The Lodge itself is beautiful and Glen and Suzanne have it well presented and in keeping with its age. The gardens are well kept as is the communal guest lounge and it means you have numerous options on where to relax (garden, lounge or your room). It was very interesting reading about the history of the house and extracts of the diary of a previous owner. Glen also provided a lot of detail on this and it just really allowed you to appreciate where you were staying.

We had the double room which was lovely. This room is at the front of the house and overlooks the beautiful gardens. It was very comfortable and has all the usual additions (tv, kettle with tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer etc). The bathroom had been recently modernised and was very nice. It has a large shower unit and is fully tiled. Very good use of the space for this bathroom.

Breakfast was a lovely experience with lots of options, very good service and tasty food. You can order hot food and there is choice of cereals, fruits, juices, yoghurt and toast in addition. My husband had the smoked kippers and I had the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon with tomatoes amd mushrooms. Both were delicious.

Glen and Suzanne thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
67
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We just loved our stay at Spean Lodge. Glen & Suzanne gave us a suberb welcome and served us tea & yummy brownie as we arrived before 5pm. This was served in the huge lounge at the large bay window with lovely views of the large pretty grounds & garden. The large house sits in the village and has been tastefully decorated with period furniture , pictures and ornaments. Masses of local information provided. Our twin room was nice with a gorgeous bathroom, fluffy towels, quality soaps , flat TV,free Wi-Fi etc. Our breakfast was served in lovely large spacious dinning room. Great selection with fresh fruit and so well presented on fine china. Delicious! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Spean Lodge is a short easy walk from Spean Bridge train station on the West Highland Scotrail route. The house is spacious, and lovingly restored, decorated and furnished in period style. Glen keeps a fire going from late afternoons in the large guest parlor, where newcomers are greeted with a fresh pot of tea and yummy cake or scones baked by Suzanne. The layout of Spean Lodge affords great privacy for guests, while Glen and Suzanne offer abundant and knowledgable information about the area and assistance in planning local activities. When I wanted to take a short hike upon arrival, Glen drove me to a nearby monument at the far end of a one hour groomed dirt path through forest and by the historic site of the Jacobean uprising of 1745. Breakfasts were spectacular, with a full cold buffet and choice of hot entrees. The smoked salmon was the freshest and best I have ever eaten. I am looking forward to returning to Spean Lodge hopefully in the not too distant future, as a starting point on further exploration of the Scottish Highlands.

Room Tip: As two women friends traveling together, we chose the large "family room" which gave us ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I couldn't agree more with all of the outstanding reviews of Spean Lodge. From our lovely hosts, Glen and Suzanne, who were helpful in every way, to the exqusite breakfasts, to the charming home and its surroundings ... it made our Highlands experience an outstanding one. Glen is a wealth of information and went out of his way to help us with our plans. The breakfasts were outstanding - fresh and cooked to order. I wish I could have stayed longer to do justice to the huge array of menu selections. At Glen's suggestion, my friend and I dined at the nearby Station House Restaurant three different nights, we enjoyed it so much. The food was excellent and the owners were delightful, entertaining us with a fun evening of guitar and singing by the bar. Thank you to Glen and Suzanne ... our stay at Spean Lodge was a perfect one.

Room Tip: Traveling with one friend, we opted for the family room, which gave us each our own bed, with our ow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

At the end of a l-o-n-g day it was wonderful to arrive and be welcomed, quite late in the day, with a pot of tea and a fresh scone. Beautifully and sensitively restored. Wonderfully comfortable room overnight and then a great breakfast set me up for the day. It's just past 5pm now and I haven't felt hungry yet. Must re-visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

What a lovely place. From the moment you arrive you are made to feel welcome. The house is stunning and the rooms very comfortable with all the amenities you require. The breakfast was delicious with local produce and all fresh and cooked to order. Glen and Suzanne were wonderful hosts, nothing was too much trouble and Suzanne even made us some cake to take with us as we were cycling. I would recommend this place to anyone who is visiting the Spean Bridge area - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Glen & Suzanne are lovely hosts & couldn't do enough to help. Beautiful guests' lounge where Glen insisted on lighting a lovely roaring fire, although we were the only guests. Comfy double bedroom with all mod cons, including new shower room. Delicious breakfast cooked to order. Glad I found this thanks to the previous reviews.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spean Lodge

Address: Spean Bridge, Spean Bridge PH34 4EP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Spean Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Highland Lodge set in two acres of lovely landscaped and wooded grounds above the River Spean. Tastefully furnished with antiques and paintings. Three well appointed and individual rooms - a double, a twin and a large family room. The spacious guest lounge overlooks the gardens and Nevis Range mountains. Delicious breakfasts. Explore Ben Nevis, Loch Ness, Skye, Cairngorms National Park etc. Lots of outdoor activities including hill walking, adventure sports, wildlife watching, golf, visit heritage sites. Village facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Spean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spean Lodge Spean Bridge, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spean Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.