We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unassuming cafe that is a surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pier Cafe

The Pier Cafe
Lochside | Lairg, Lairg IV27 4EG, Scotland
+44 1549 402971
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Lairg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Unassuming cafe that is a surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The photo of this café doesn't do it justice - it looks so unexceptional, but inside it is a lovely little place with a great view out onto a Loch.

We stopped in for a break while we were driving, and were so glad we did. Two of our party had soup and it was absolutely excellent, and they served two different types of home made bread with it. The other two of us had cakes, and they were just melt-in-the-mouth wonderful. Mine was the lemon cheesecake, and it was superb, I don't know when I've had such a good dessert. If you were served it in a top restaurant in London you would be very happy.

All in all, this is a place not to miss if you are anywhere in the area and want either an extremely nice simple meal or just a quick cup of tea and cake. Go for it and enjoy!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    14
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tongue
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“tasty treats in lairg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

on a trip south we stopped for lunch at the Pier in Lairg. The smoked salmon and cream cheese salad is to die for all sourced locally the bread from Invergordon I think. Whatever, it was tasty and fresh.The coffee really had flavour as well. We have eaten there before and have never been disapointed.
Well done The Pier.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutherland, Highland Scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great view, lovley woodburner - and excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Really tasty food, and locally made crafts available. REALLY worth a visit, highly recommended.
Closed on Monday, not sure about Sunday.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Awaya visit the Pier Cafe when we stay in Lairg, never been dissapointed. Lovely sandwiches etc and a great selection of cakes. Definitley worth a visit, a real gem.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Bees, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent place...don't pass it by :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Warm and welcoming staff with a woodurning stove for the cold days. This really is a charming place to stop for a break. Thoroughly recommend The Pier Cafe.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pier Cafe also viewed

Bonar Bridge, Caithness and Sutherland
Lairg, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Lairg, Caithness and Sutherland
Lairg, Caithness and Sutherland
 

Been to The Pier Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pier Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.