We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tasty treats in lairg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pier Cafe

The Pier Cafe
Lochside | Lairg, Lairg IV27 4EG, Scotland
+44 1549 402971
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 restaurants in Lairg
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Tongue
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“tasty treats in lairg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

on a trip south we stopped for lunch at the Pier in Lairg. The smoked salmon and cream cheese salad is to die for all sourced locally the bread from Invergordon I think. Whatever, it was tasty and fresh.The coffee really had flavour as well. We have eaten there before and have never been disapointed.
Well done The Pier.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    59
    8
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sutherland, Highland Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great view, lovley woodburner - and excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Really tasty food, and locally made crafts available. REALLY worth a visit, highly recommended.
Closed on Monday, not sure about Sunday.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Awaya visit the Pier Cafe when we stay in Lairg, never been dissapointed. Lovely sandwiches etc and a great selection of cakes. Definitley worth a visit, a real gem.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Bees, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent place...don't pass it by :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Warm and welcoming staff with a woodurning stove for the cold days. This really is a charming place to stop for a break. Thoroughly recommend The Pier Cafe.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Went here with some friends recently when I was visiting the area. It was lovely!

The view was lovely and we had lovely tea/coffee and cakes. Service was great.

Others were eating meals round about us and their food looked delicious.

We had to sit with a low table so that wasn't the most comfortable as it was busyso all pther tables were used.The building from the outside is horrid however once you're through the door it is all very lovely.

Will return when I visit the area again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pier Cafe also viewed

Lairg, Caithness and Sutherland
Bonar Bridge, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Lairg, Caithness and Sutherland
Golspie, Caithness and Sutherland
 

Been to The Pier Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pier Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.