We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a shame!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lairg Highland Hotel

Lairg Highland Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lairg Highland Hotel to your Saves list
Lairg Highland Hotel
Main Street, Lairg IV27 4DB, Scotland (Formerly The Nip Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 10 Lairg B&B and Inns
Bolton UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“What a shame!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed over at a B&B in Lairg last year and had two excellent meals here, one a splendid Indian meal prepared by their Asian chef. No Indian menu this year, sadly, and not much in the way of service. We had, fortunately, booked a table so went straight in to dine. Drinks order taken fairly smartly, but aperitifs took ages to arrive and the wine even longer. When the meal finally arrived [we only wanted one course] one order was entirely wrong, but we had waited so long we decided to stay with it! It later transpired it was intended for someone else, who then had to wait even longer! As we left, there were people who had been sitting there when we came in and were still waiting for tables! Sadly there is nowhere else in Lairg to dine. Try to find a B&B who will provide an evening meal!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    17
    11
    2
    5
See reviews for
10
14
8
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed here for two nights, originally meant to be one but they had one room free and offered it to us. The staff were very friendly and helpful and our room was of a high standard. We have never ventured to this part of Scotland before but we will certainly be back after such an enjoyable stay, thanks to the staff once again.

Room Tip: Superior room if avaliable is a good choice .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Skye
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed here with family for two nights. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The staff were pleasant and the breakfasts were enjoyable although there were no kippers on the second morning which was disappointing.
We dined in their Reflections restaurant on our first night. Sadly this meal could only be described as a disaster. On complaining we were told there was only one chef on duty. Obviously this is no excuse and was not our problem. We felt that the standard of the food did not live up the standard of the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Very clean room nicely appointed . Didn't have dinner but it looked and smelt good ! Breakfast was very well cooked and nicely served . Expensive , so I didn't really expect jam in little packets but otherwise it was fine.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

always pop in here when up visiting, staff always very welcoming and make you feel like your in your local. Alway have good banter in bar, had meal before and was great but settled for crisps this time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Third visit to this hotel, relatives live nearby.
Had best room , we had it one first trip but was unavailable on second.
Very clean hotel and nice room although shower was very compact and I am only 12 stone.
Food adequate

Room Tip: Best room is more expensive but worth it , at back although front not noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This Hotel offers a very good choice of food and not too expensive prices, the service was good and food prepared and cooked to our liking. The Chef obviously uses local produce which is always nice to find when on holiday. Would return if in the area again.

Room Tip: As we only eat here unable to comment on rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lairg Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lairg Highland Hotel

Address: Main Street, Lairg IV27 4DB, Scotland (Formerly The Nip Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Lairg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lairg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Lairg Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lairg Highland Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lairg Highland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.