We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lot of attentiveness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ardarroch Cottage B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ardarroch Cottage B&B to your Saves list
Ardarroch Cottage B&B
Kinlocheil, Kinlocheil, Fort William, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Kinlocheil B&B and Inns
Bordeaux, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lot of attentiveness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

A lot of attentiveness for every members of the family. Lovely house in front of the Loch. Excellent breakfast. Ideally located on the road between Malaig and Fort William, close to the famous bridge of Glenfinnan.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
57
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westervoort, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We travelled across scotland this summer and stayed in various hotels and bed & breakfasts. Whenever you are planning to visit Fort William you should consider to stay at the Ardarroch Cottage B & B. With an eye for detail on the room (UK Adaptor, fruit, magazines, local information), spacious and comfortable bed, and a breakfast adapted to your cultural requirements its worth spending a night! Thanks again for your hospitality! ps next time my wife will expect Nasi Goreng with our Breakfast ;-)

Bertus and Vonny

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Ardarroch Cottage 4 June 2013, for two nights. We knew from positive reviews that this was the best choice for us but we were still surprised by how very nice the accommodations are. Both rooms are very large, light-filled and airy, with sitting areas. The furniture and beds are top of the line. The bathrooms are well-appointed and again with lots of light. All are in pristine condition.
Simply, Ardarroch is superior to other B&Bs.
Barry and Ellie are terrific; you'll leave feeling like friends.
Regarding the parking: it is not a problem. There is a paved lane for parking parallel to the road.
We were very much off the road when parked and it did not present a problem in any way.
Going east from Ardarroch Cottage is a most beautiful stretch of road.....we suggest
travelers drive all the way to Mallaig.
Sheep were nibbling in the meadow next to Ardarroch Cottage, Ben Nevis was out the window,
Loch Eil gleamed across the road which is very quiet. Tranquility, charm - and the friendliness of Barry and Ellie - are what we take away from the visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Nice location 8 miles from Fort William along a quiet road to the Isles. Very comfortable, clean and spacious, king size bed in room 1 as well as vue on Ben Nevis and on Loch Eil. Barry and Ellie are so friendly and helpfull; always happy to help. They even lent us walking poles that saved my knees going down from Ben Nevis. They made breakfast at our convenience, prepared some food for our Ben Nevis trip and provided excellent advises. The breakfasts were made of good quality ingredients including eggs from their own chickens and cooked to perfection. One evening, a few red deer paid a visit: 3 in the garden and 6 just on the other side of the fence (including a baby), magnificent! We stayed 4 nights and would come back with no hesitation. Thank you both Ellie and Barrie for making our visit to the Highlands to agreable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUNDEE
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

myself and my wife have just returned from a fantastic 2 nights stay at the ardarroch hosted by barrie and ellie, everything about this b&b was spot on, food was excellent and plenty of it from cereals to full scottish breakfast, we also had home made muffins, the views were fantastic overlooking the loch and of ben nevis, barrie and ellie made us feel most welcome and could not do enough for you, including a wee dram sitting outside watching ellies chickens running around the well kept gardens, we have been to few a few b&bs and this one is top of them all, lots of little touches throughout including robes and slippers in your room, will return again, if looking for a b&b, then book this one. thanks, Alex and Anne

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymm, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Barrie and Ellie are excellent hosts. They made us feel wanted from the moment we got a text to hope that our journey to Scotland was going well. The bedroom and bathroom were spacious and well appointed with a good view of Ben Nevis. The bed was extremely comfortable and the towelling robes were a nice touch.
I went down with a virus within a few hours of arriving and they could not have been more solicitous, allowing my wife to use the fridge etc.
The location makes an excellent base for exploring the area and of course the famous Glenfinnan viaduct is only just down the road.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here again for one night on our way to the Hebrides. We were made very welcome by Barrie and Ellie. The room is beautiful and spacious with lovely views and we were able to watch the deer from the room which was nice. I note that the parking will be through the gate in the future - that would make it absolutely perfect! Even though there is a road at the front of the property this does not detract anyway from the excellent nights sleep that we have experienced here - the bed (and pillows) are so comfortable. Breakfast was so delicious and plentiful. We will definitely stay again shopuld we come to this area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ardarroch Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardarroch Cottage B&B

Address: Kinlocheil, Kinlocheil, Fort William, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William > Kinlocheil
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kinlocheil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ardarroch Cottage is a small friendly Bed & Breakfast that offers an exceptional standard of accommodation and service. We are situated only 8 miles from Fort William on the beautiful "Road to the Isles" with excellent transport links to all parts of the Highlands. The house has stunning views of Ben Nevis and Loch Eil and in the summer you can sit and watch the famous Steam Train pass twice daily. Accommodation is of a very high standard with full en-suite facilities. Tea and Coffee making facilities, Satellite TV and free Internet access (WIFI) in all rooms. Full Scottish Breakfast or Continental Style Breakfast is included and any special dietary requests can be catered for. Ardarroch Cottage is ideally located for those wanting to be ‘out of town’ yet require easy access to all the facilities offered in Lochaber - "The Outdoor Capital of UK." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ardarroch Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ardarroch Cottage B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.