We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grimstock Country House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grimstock Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grimstock Country House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gilson Road, Coleshill B46 1LJ , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Coleshill
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed here as part of a family get together. The hotel is in a great location with easy motorway access. The room was small but comfortable , evening meal nice but the dining room was rather cold and the vegetables accompanying the meat/fish were minimal (more of a garnish really) and some did not materialise until we asked for them. Cheese plate really well presented

The really good part was that the staff, in all areas, were absolutely lovely, very helpful and charming. Great training guys!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod F, Manager at Grimstock Country House Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for providing your thoughts on your visit to us. Overall you were complimentary which is pleasing. the comments regarding the food have been relayed to the chef and his team; there is no excuse for anyone to be dissatisfied with the quantity of vegetables as there are always extras available in the kitchen. Evidently our staff did not provide sufficient attention to the guests. The heating is on 24 hours a day - the radiators must have had their thermostats turned off.
Hopefully you will visit us again so that we can deliver a service without any negative aspects at all as that is what we strive to do on all occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    21
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
8
15
8
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I made a specific note on the booking form that we required 2 x vegetarian breakfasts and, as recommended, to ask for a large double bed. Disappointed to find a small double bed with an uncomfortable mattress, a room that was in desperate need of refurbishment (peeling paintwork) and a very outdated bathroom. However, it was clean and warm. We booked a meal for the first evening. Website shows a sample vegetarian menu but in reality, it doesn't exist. So we had ONE option, which was very nice but was rather disgruntled that we had to pay an extra £2 for vegetables to go with a vegetable wellington. It appears that vegetarians are subsidising the steak eaters! We ate elsewhere the second evening.
Breakfast was very disappointing as they hadn't looked at the booking requirements. The waitress was very attentive and asked the receptionist to come and see us, but all this did was reaffirm that they had overlooked our requests. What we would have expected was the next days breakfast to have a vegetarian option, even if it was an offering of a quorn sausage! When a customer complains, one expects a solution not just an apology. Sad to say that I wasn't happy with the way that they dealt with our complaint and we felt like we were a big inconvenience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod F, Manager at Grimstock Country House Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
We are very sorry and embarrassed that you had such a disappointing visit to our Hotel. Our skilful team of chefs cater for vegetarians on a daily basis. Every function that we host includes guests with vegetarian requirements. There is no excuse at all for the Hotel not delivering options for you to consider.
Our breakfasts include a wide range of cereals, porridge, medley of fresh fruit, grapefruit, natural yoghurt, choice of wholemeal and white toast cooked to order, poached eggs, fried eggs, scrambled eggs, baked beans, mushrooms, tomatoes. The bacon and sausage is not of course vegetarian and it would have been ideal had we provided an alternative.
Our chefs have confirmed that they do indeed cook and serve vegetarian sausages; we can only apologise that you were let down.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Business trip only for one night. Great location and ample parking very promising when walking in.
Arrived late so just needed to churn up laptop,shower food and bed. Very friendly and welcoming receptionist. It all stopped there. Hotel woefully in need of upgrade, dated dusty environment- please don't fall back on the 'country house' tag. Room musty and 1970's peach bathroom a joke. Water just about came out of taps and shower as good as a trickle. Please don't say you provide wifi when you clearly do not. Despite the query and the usual 'I will reset it' no coverage away from the bar area. Lost will to live so went to bed. Breakfast all too much effort for the serving staff. After demanding your name went on to be served cooked breakfast that was situated behind a screen- dare I asked for an extra sausage! All very very cheap ingredients. Not expecting top quality but at least don't take the you know what out of your customers. Considering the price this is not acceptable. Defo won't be returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed for a night whilst on business. Warm welcome and very happy with the room - clean, good size and well appointed. I even had a teapot on the tea/coffee tray, which is so civilized compared to dunking a teabag in a cup. My room had a balcony overlooking the field at the side of the hotel so I could watch horses and rabbits whilst sipping civilized tea. It's only a few minutes from the NEC but has a nice rural feel to it. The M42 is nearby and you can hear the noise form this if the windows are open, but no noise from the motorway with windows shut.

Good size car park with CCTV and coded barriers. I didn't have an evening meal here but the breakfast was good - cereal and full English -in a pleasant dining room.

I'll chose this hotel again when I'm next down.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had a lunch to celebrate 'granny's' 95th birthday. Approx 30 people including children, in the garden room. The whole experience was EXCELLENT. From the initial arranging via Hilary (top class) to all the staff who were superb. Food (3 course, Soup, Lamb, Apple Pie and sausage beans and chips for the very young) was superb.
100% recommendation.
Thank you Grimstock.

Room Tip: Speak to Hilary !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brid Nr Worcester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I would like to place this review as we used this venue for my youngest Daughter, Naomi's Wedding last Saturday - 21-09-13.

Some of us were booked in the night before the big day, where we were greeted with a most warm welcome and shown to our rooms, which were spotless and well equipped.
The staff were kind, polite and friendly and 'nothing was too much trouble for them'.

We ate an evening meal which was both delicious and reasonable, and I strongly recommend that anyone seeking a Christmas party or works do book up here asap! as the food and service is excellent.

The big day arrived and the staff were just 'simply wonderful, taking care of us 'all' but especially the Bride and Groom.
Hilary - the manageress was 'superb, even lending her hand to assisting with the 'lacing up of my daughter's Wedding dress ( it took 3 of us to get it just so!!) - 'Thank you Hilary'.

Everything went perfectly smooth from start to finish, and thanks to 'Hilary and her staff team, who didn't just go 'the extra mile', but I would say the extra '100 miles' to ensure this was a beautiful day we could 'all look back upon with pride'- thank you all again! The staff were totally respectful, and no attention to detail was spared!

As the evening came to a close the service did 'not dwindle' , with the added bonus of staff offering to take people to a local accommodation who were not able to get rooms at the Grimstock Country House, again a 'huge thank you - you know who you are!!

I believe this is not the last time we will be visiting this venue , either individually for personal celebrations of Birthdays, Anniversary's and the like, or in group parties, rooms are 'superb, service second to 'none where other Hotels are concerned!

A fantastic day, which made 'All our Hearts sing', thanking you Hilary and 'all your staff team' for all the hard work and effort put into making this day -
'a Dream Come True' for us all, but especially for the Bride & Groom - from the bottom of our hearts.
We will 'definitely be recommending your services and venue, we look forward to seeing you for 'future occasions,

best regards 'Barbara & Jon xx ( Mother -Of- the Bride & her Partner)

Room Tip: All are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod F, Manager at Grimstock Country House Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments! Our staff are really pleased to read that their efforts were appreciated so much. Every function held at Grimstock Country House Hotel is important to the guests and to us. Weddings do though require the utmost attention as it is such a unique occasion for all concerned. Our General Manager, Hilary, is always on hand - from the time of the original booking, through the planning process and then vitally at all times during the wedding day and the celebrations. We always strive to ensure that our staff sort out all matters, leaving the bride and groom to make the most of their very special day. Your feedback is very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My daughters wedding was held here on 21st Sept. 2013, the service and attentiveness of Hilary and all the staff on duty over that weekend was second to none, nothing was too much trouble, they all turned a special weekend into a VERY special weekend, the food was excellent and so was the atmosphere, all made possible by the caring staff, especially Hilary, I would say it was all 1st class, but that would not do it justice, it wass far superior to that, thankyou all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grimstock Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grimstock Country House Hotel

Address: Gilson Road, Coleshill B46 1LJ , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Coleshill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Coleshill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grimstock Country House Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grimstock Country House Hotel is privately owned and is situated in a rural setting and has its own beautiful grounds and gardens. It is ideally located for the National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham Airport, Birmingham Business Park and Hams Hall Distribution Park which are all only a 5 minute drive away. The main Midlands motorway links are also on the doorstep with quick access to the M6, M42 and the M6 Toll Road.As soon as you turn off the main road into Gilson Road, you can start to relax. From the moment that you see the tree lined entrance to the Grimstock Country House Hotel, you will realise that you have made the right choice as to where to stay. This independent Hotel provides its own unique mixture of professionalism and a personal service that ensures that its guests are looked after individually. The solid oak panelled reception is a perfect example of the high quality of décor and of the relaxed atmosphere provided. However it is the personal attention to guests that makes the real difference between the Grimstock Country House Hotel and other hotels in the area. All of the bedrooms are tastefully furnished and offer a wide range of facilities as well as a wonderful Full English Breakfast served in our splendid Garden Restaurant. We have a lovely bar open to residents along with the adjoining Warwick Lounge that provide an ideal comfortable place to relax before or after enjoying the perfect meal in our restaurant where you will enjoy freshly prepared locally grown produce. A wide range of choices are on offer all specially prepared by our award winning Chef. The Hotel offers a variety of conference and meeting rooms with up to 100 delegates comfortably accommodated. A free Broadband service is provided to all bedrooms and conference rooms. Wi-fi access is made available in all of the delegates areas. Conference facilities and meeting rooms are also serviced with full Wi-fi access. A wide range of visual and audio equipment is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Grimstock Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grimstock Country House Hotel Coleshill
Grimstock Country Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grimstock Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.