We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service, great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grimstock Country House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grimstock Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Grimstock Country House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gilson Road, Coleshill B46 1LJ , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Coleshill
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic service, great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in August and even though it was a hot humid weekend the hotel was very comfortable and our room was lovely as it had a nice shady balcony. We had dinner one night which was superb and the food was better than some top restaurants in London.

Great location as you are only 5 minutes from the station (easy to get into town), but you feel as though you are in the countryside. There is a well equipped gym in the grounds which you can access any time.

Our breakfast was lovely (had poached eggs both days) - nothing too much trouble for the staff and service is always with a smile which makes a nice change these days.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodrod1, Manager at Grimstock Country House Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback on your experience of Grimstock Country House Hotel. As a regular guest with us, it is reassuring that we continue to deliver such a high quality service to you. We look forward to seeing here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    29
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
15
19
8
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

An unusual stop off for me in terms of business trips, its normally big chains, but this was closer to the office and cheaper.

The grounds are stunning and there is plenty of parking. The staff are friendly & efficient. Downstairs the hotel looks OK, wood panels and beams, disguising the fact its just a couple of decades old. The rooms have all the old fashioned features but they are looking a little tired. They are completely functional, but broken tiles in the bathrooms and showers that need to be run for some time before they are warm enough to stand in, and then in minutes it's scalding hot, just detract somewhat.

The biggest let down is the restaurant, very expensive and poor food. You have a choice of either 2 or 3 courses, costing you either £18 or around £23. That is only for the main food though, any side dishes including chips and vegetables are additionally chargeable. Also there are only 5 main dishes on the menu, and 4 starters so for a single night stay you are OK, any more than that and you are pushing it. On the plus side Coleshill high street is packed with various restaurants and there is a Harvester less than 5 minutes drive away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodrod1, Manager at Grimstock Country House Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Your comments are most helpful. The issue regarding the hot water has been resolved as soon as you advised us of a problem; the hot water system had become air blocked and was cleared in seconds once we were aware of the issue. It is unfortunate that your stay was spoiled and we do apologise. You mention a broken tile; we have an ongoing refurbishment programme for the rooms. At the time of your stay there was one bathroom with minor tiling problems and again we can only apologise that you were allocated that room. If you do visit us again then I am sure that you will have a much better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel recently with a few other people. The hotel, location, food and facilities are very good. The staff are very attentive and helpful. The rooms are well laid out with good facilities, if a little dated. However on the downside, the evening menu food was expensive, and we were refused poached eggs at breakfast, as "the chef doesn't do them"! We will probably return to the hotel, but would hope the minor niggles are attended to in the meantime.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod F, Manager at Grimstock Country House Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall. Our evening menu changes on a weekly basis and the style/cost has been amended since your stay. As regards breakfast, all of our chefs are trained to a high standard - certainly, the options of how eggs are cooked for breakfast include poaching! The waiting staff have been reminded as to what is on offer to guests. We look forward to welcoming you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here half dozen times in recent years. It's a hotel with a bit of character. The staff are all helpful (although the alarm call and newspaper never arrived).

Good value for the area to stay in the hotel. Rooms are clean and I had no problems with the wifi. The restaurant has spooked its a la carte menu which is a shame. The set menu is on the pricey side compared to the cost of a room. Breakfast room is nice with views of the garden.

Beats a large chain hotel for me.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodrod1, Manager at Grimstock Country House Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Your comments are appreciated and helpful, especially as you are a frequent visitor to Grimstock Country House Hotel. Our staff are trained to deliver on service and cleanliness and it is reassuring that you have rated us well. The menu comments have been discussed with the owner and the head chef. Our menu does now change on a weekly basis and we offer an inclusive Fixed Price menu for any 2 courses @ £18-50 or 3 courses £21-50.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed at this old country house and although it was old and noisy I suppose that is to be expected, service was lacking as was the wifi signal, after one use of my key card it lost its memory apparently.
Food was very expensive for what is was..
Also it was very noisy from the bar gone 11pm

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed again at the Grimstock for one night this month, and this was my second stay as I had also visited this time last year. This time I wasn't so impressed with the hotel, perhaps because in the past year I've visited other hotels of a better standard and price. I appreciate the old-fashioned country style of the hotel with traditional old furniture etc, but I didn't feel the room was as clean as it could have been and the old bathroom had several mouldy areas in need of attention. The blind in my bathroom looked very dirty and dusty and so I didn't attempt to roll it down while I was showering. Nothing was horrendously dirty, I just got that unclean feeling about my room for some reason and some updating is needed. Plus points were the room was lovely and warm, the food in the restaurant was great as it was before and staff excellent and very friendly and helpful, couldn't fault that at all, but I felt £95 was rather expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Leonards on Sea
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed at the Grimstock as part of a group of 14 while we were working at Crufts and I have nothing but praise for the hotel and its staff. Nothing was too much trouble, staff were always pleasant and very helpful. Even when we arrived back late after the kitchens were closed it was no problem for the night porter to whip us up a sandwich.
The Grimstock is also very comfortable. Okay some of the furniture might be a tad stylised and the bathrooms have coloured suites and therefore look a little dated but that is purely a fashion thing because the bathrooms and well sized.
I think what I enjoy most about staying here is that it's an independent hotel and an individual hotel and it is so refreshing to stay somewhere that doesn't feel like it is being run from a head office instruction manual.
To sum up, a great hotel in great surroundings with staff who are second to none.
Oh just one negative! The gym is fine for what it is but do remember the weights are all in pounds rather than kilos so staying there doesn't instantly double your strength!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodrod1, Manager at Grimstock Country House Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for staying with us during Crufts @ NEC. This is one of the busiest times of the year for Grimstock Country House Hotel. Being ideally situated in substantial private grounds and within a few minutes of the NEC, we are fortunate in having many repeat guests. We are reliant on customer feedback as we do not have the advertising budgets of the chain hotels. We value our independence and hope that our service levels continue to differentiate us from the competition. Your comments are most appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grimstock Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grimstock Country House Hotel

Address: Gilson Road, Coleshill B46 1LJ , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Coleshill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Coleshill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grimstock Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grimstock Country House Hotel is privately owned and is situated in a rural setting and has its own beautiful grounds and gardens. It is ideally located for the National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham Airport, Birmingham Business Park and Hams Hall Distribution Park which are all only a 5 minute drive away. The main Midlands motorway links are also on the doorstep with quick access to the M6, M42 and the M6 Toll Road.As soon as you turn off the main road into Gilson Road, you can start to relax. From the moment that you see the tree lined entrance to the Grimstock Country House Hotel, you will realise that you have made the right choice as to where to stay. This independent Hotel provides its own unique mixture of professionalism and a personal service that ensures that its guests are looked after individually. The solid oak panelled reception is a perfect example of the high quality of décor and of the relaxed atmosphere provided. However it is the personal attention to guests that makes the real difference between the Grimstock Country House Hotel and other hotels in the area. All of the bedrooms are tastefully furnished and offer a wide range of facilities as well as a wonderful Full English Breakfast served in our splendid Garden Restaurant. We have a lovely bar open to residents along with the adjoining Warwick Lounge that provide an ideal comfortable place to relax before or after enjoying the perfect meal in our restaurant where you will enjoy freshly prepared locally grown produce. A wide range of choices are on offer all specially prepared by our award winning Chef. The Hotel offers a variety of conference and meeting rooms with up to 100 delegates comfortably accommodated. A free Broadband service is provided to all bedrooms and conference rooms. Wi-fi access is made available in all of the delegates areas. Conference facilities and meeting rooms are also serviced with full Wi-fi access. A wide range of visual and audio equipment is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Grimstock Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grimstock Country House Hotel Coleshill
Grimstock Country Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grimstock Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.