We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat Here!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manchuria - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Manchuria
164 High Street, Rochester ME1 1EX, England
01634 409155
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $18 - $38
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Xiankerlai, pronounced ���sian-ker-lie���, is one of Rochester���s finest Chinese restaurants and undoubtedly its most authentic. Indeed Xiankerlai have put much time and effort in to perfecting a menu that adequately reflects a cuisine, which has developed over the course of five millennia, full of history, culture and even superstition. The kitchen knows that it is vital to use the right ingredients and methods for absolute faithfulness to tradition, leaving the guest safe in the knowledge that they are enjoying Chinese recipes prepared exactly as intended, dishes eaten for thousands of years in China itself. In keeping with the precise and traditional nature of Xiankerlai���s food the interior has been carefully designed by an interiors expert all the way from Beijing. Giving a modern twist to ancient Chinese themes, the room is full of history - in copies of old artworks, the rough wood panelling and even, to a degree, in the colour scheme - but is also glamorous and sleek.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Eat Here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We have eaten here twice now, the food was fantastic on both occasions, it's different from the normal bland goo that is served up in the majority of chinese restaurants in the UK. The service was lacking on the first visit, and a bit over attentive on the second. It's a real shame this restaurant is not busier as this is a real gem!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    3
    3
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Really surprised to read negative comments as my experience was outstanding. The service was amazing, they explained all the dishes and informed us why their menu was different from the average Chinese. The surroundings are plush and it certainly is one of Rochester’s upper class restaurants. The food quality was brilliant. We couldn’t fault anything. The wine is reasonably priced also. This is a great place and I hope it does well.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Looks great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Very welcoming and friendly staff in very attractive surroundings. A comprehensive menu to.
But the food is not good or presented well. The best way to describe it is 70's chinese takeaway. sad because I like the place and hope it improves soon.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful sounding menu, disappointing reality!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Visited this restaurant with 7 friends and looked at the menu before hand and was excited to see some new and interesting chinese dishes so was really looking forward to trying it out. We arrived at 9 and didn't eat our mains until 11! We had to remind staff of the starters we ordered and everything came out in dribs and drabs. Food was pretty average. Food took so long some of our group cancelled their order as they didn't want to eat so late and also because the staff showed a total lack of caring which made us just want to get out of there! When we queried the delays and tried to complain the response was unbelievably rude and brash and in the end I resented paying at all! Some of the dishes were very nice and house wine is good - not enough to make me go back though.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Turd”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

If you like waiting 20 minutes for a menu, 1 and a half hours for starters and 2 hours for a main (11pm), incompetent rude staff and no apologies for any of the above, burnt food, MSG riddled food and lack of attention to detail you will LOVE it here.

Avoid at all costs. Seriously, don't bother.
If I could give it zero on here I would.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manchuria also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manchuria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.