We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Riverview Lodge Rochester

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rochester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverview Lodge Rochester
88 Borstal Road, Rochester ME1 3BD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 17 Rochester B&B and Inns
Oxted, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“AVOID!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I normally try to find a positive with everything, but with this hotel, I found nothing to be positive about. We arrived on the Friday to be greeted by a freezing cold room, no working lights and no hot water. When we tried to find someone to complain there is no one around. Saturday morning, we woke up to find a continental breakfast of half a loaf of bread and that was it. No yoghurts, no cereals, no orange juice. We went out for the day and returned Saturday afternoon. The heating had been turned off and once again, there was no hot water. Once again, with no one around to complain too we decided to come home a day early. Once returning, we complained via email to the manager, who was not only rude and aggressive in his email but laughed off our complaint and said that he was not willing to refund our second night, even though we didnt stay becuase of all listed above. Avoid if you can!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    6
    6
    11
See reviews for
8
7
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

After reading some of the reviews we were a bit wary of this place. 7 of us booked in for the weekend, for the Dickension Weekend. We had the family room on bottom floor, twin on 3rd and 4th floor. The good points: 1) The views from the room were stunning. 2) A short walk into Rochester 3) The manager/owner was very nice and even gave my mum a bottle of wine for her birthday. He did try his best. He allowed us to use breakfast room to have tea in both nights.
4) Plenty of parking.
The bad: 1) The place is freezing....I mean freezer cold - radiator wasn't working in family room, so had electric heater. We all had hot water bottles, thick pj's jumpers, socks on and were still cold. Duvets not thick enough. The place just never warmed up. Other guests complained...one lady slept in her coat all night.
2) The breakfast ok, but yogurts out of date. We took bacon and eggs and cooked them ourselves in microwave. Also bought pancakes in. Check date on things before consuming. This should never happen.
3) Problems with hot water. Room on top floor, the shower burst its pipes and we couldn't use it first day. Owner not around so used another rooms, He did fix it following day, along with shower that wouldn't turn off. The family room had problems with hot water, they couldn't get any after few seconds. We were told, its very cold and takes while to heat up, use the bathroom one...this wasn't any better.
4)) It is rented out to students/workers in week and there bags of dirty laundry were found in rooms.
5) Cleaner needs to work harder, after moving the bed in family room (trying it put beds together for warmth!) a rodent dropping was found. No owner around to complain too until next day!
5) LIght in bathroom didn't work in top floor...at night, door had to be left little ajar to see.
The whole place could be lovely, if money and love was spent on it. The building is stunning and its a shame its not being used to its full potential.
On the whole, spent a little more money and go somewhere else. We won't be going back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Heating turned off so incredibly cold, slept fully dressed! Mould in shower, bitterly cold shower room and wc, yoghurt for breakfast past it's use by date and no a fire doors in sight. The worst place I have ever stayed. The up side is free parking and walking distance to Rochester

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at this place for 3 nights and must admit that on our arrival the room we were given was clean ... having an 11 month old baby we would have preferred not having the topmost and furthermost room but we didn't complain. the views were nice and room clean. The problems we encountered were the following :
1) for our entire stay nobody came to do up the room, change the towels or empty the bins (and with a baby's dirty nappies it is potentially very unpleasant ... we decided to put them out ourselves!);
2) the breakfast was dodgy ... we knew there would be a self-service breakfast but weren't prepared for a greenish mouldy loaf of bread, expired yoghurt or hot chocolate which expired in May last year!
3) we had an ensuite bathroom but it was freezing cold ... very poorly if insulated and no heating in the bathroom made it very unpleasant;
4) this B&B is advertised as offering free WiFi but it is unrealistic since we were never given the codes for WiFi access despite having asked for WiFi access.
5) we were left to our own resources ... during the whole stay we only saw the proprietor once, when we arrived, for the rest of the stay nobody was around.
6) uncomfortable, springy mattress ... on the whole this B&B desperately needs to be done up

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We were 4adults staying here for one night as we heading out to the local town for a birthday party. We had the family room which was huge with a lovely balcony with a gorgeous view of the river. Very pleasantly surprised, although the rooms are very dated and in need of a update, it was still clean and beds were comfy. What made the weekend for us is that the owner was so helpful, we had a late night and he let us stay all day the next day, instead of chucking us out the next morning. We had a walk around town and then sat on the balcony and enjoyed the sun ad the views. We all had a very chilled and lovely day catching up, so thank you to the owner for being so kind.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckenham Junction
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

A quirky place perched on the cliffs down the street from a pleasant pub with an excellent Indian restaurant. The building has great "old" bones with spectacular fireplaces and views from every window. It's a tired house though and not for everyone. For me it was worth the stay just to take in the breakfast room, the wallpaper and the high ceilings. It is in need of some re-decorating and cleaning (I'd skip the shower) but the owner is full of interesting conversation and the experience is fine for those accustomed to none of the comforts of a typical hostel (towels and an adorable bar of pink soap provided, along with breakfast).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Heart of England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed one night and that was enough for us. The entire building is tired and could do with a good clean. The owner was friendly and helpful. The view from the bedroom window was amazing but the bedding had a blood stain on it ! and the shower was full of pubic hair !! sorry but no matter how cheap somewhere is you should still expect the basics to be right.

It needs a full refurb and a good clean it seemed like it had all got on top of the owner.

I dont mind cheap and cheerful but I expect cleanliness.

I hate to say it but I wish we had opted for the travel lodge or whatever it was over the river.

Would not reccomend sorry.

The breakfast was fine but thats about it.

note to the owner sack your cleaner as they are not doing anything

It could be an amazing place with a lot of time and money

Room Tip: Go elsewhere if you expect clean facitlities
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riverview Lodge Rochester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview Lodge Rochester

Address: 88 Borstal Road, Rochester ME1 3BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Rochester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Riverview Lodge Rochester Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverview Lodge Rochester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riverview Lodge Rochester to your Saves list