We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made my head sweat and my tastebuds sing.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Four Two

Thai Four Two
164 High Street, Rochester ME1 1EX, England (Formerly Thai For Two)
01634 840 451
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 108 Restaurants in Rochester
Price range: $31 - $39
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Sheerness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Made my head sweat and my tastebuds sing.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

A vaguely worn at the elbows small Thai place at the Star Hill end of Rochester High St, but cosy and warm, rather like the staff and service; friendly and efficient.
We had the set menu for 2; a selection of mixed starters with dipping chilli and peanut sauces and then 2 main courses and rice. This was £26 plus drinks...reasonable value overall. A really pleasant experience overall, not quite deserving of a 5/5, the place needs a slight spruce up with a few cosmetic flaws but I can forgive this when food and service are this good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    49
    8
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gorgeous little restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Lovely restaurant with top class food - staff are very warm and friendly - would definitely recommend to all and revisit myself :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Cute and cosy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

A lovely little find in Rochester. The restaurant has a great atmosphere and the layout is ideal in that you are not on top of each other.

Food is reasonably priced and very tasty, they also deliver and do takeaways!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Lovely Thai restaurant in old English building.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I went here for Saturday lunch with my 8 year old son, and we both loved it. The building is in the high street and has that old English rickety feel to it.
The service was excellent, and the food was delicious. Decent price too. Could be a rival to Limehouse Thai.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and I were only in the area for a couple of days and as we do like good Thai food decided to give this unimposing restaurant a try. We weren't disappointed. Don't be put off by the outside appearance (could do with a little tidying up). However the inside, although quite small, is reminiscent of an authentic Thailand restaurant. We couldn't fault the food.......the starter platter to share was excellent.......and the service too was courteous and friendly. We have had Thai cuisine in this country before which doesn't compare to the real thing, but the meal here was as close to the 'real Thai' as we have experienced in the UK.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Four Two also viewed

 

Been to Thai Four Two? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Four Two, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.