We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast, good location, and fantastic host.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Number 68 B&B

Number 68 B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broadstairs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Number 68 B&B
Save
You added Number 68 B&B to your Saves list
68 West Cliff Road, Broadstairs CT10 1PY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 26 Broadstairs B&B and Inns
hertfordshire, england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, good location, and fantastic host.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

Had a lovely 2 night stay in this comfy and well-located B&B.

We have stayed in many B&Bs over the years and Mike was definitely the best host we have encountered. For once we had little time to research the area before our arrival and Mike's knowledge helped us out a great deal. He always had a map ready, along with several eating recommendations that never disappointed.

We stayed in the Chinese room which was large and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was fantastic and our dietary requirements were well catered for (alas, not always the case).

A minor downside was the size of the bathroom in the Chinese room and the annoying door. It does state on the website that the bathroom is small, so this isn't a grumble, more of an observation.

Having said that, I would definitely recommend number 68 for the comfy bed, the great breakfast and the best host.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
24
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

Having had to cancel our Egypt holiday due to the political situation we set off to Kent in the rain with heavy hearts, however we had a lovely time the 2 nights we spent at No. 68.
The building is very attractive and kept beautifully in character, the rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated and the breakfast is great. Mike went out of his way to be help us with local information and we will definitely visit again. Hopefully in the summer next time.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

Average B&B - absolutely nothing special.

Good Points -

-The Chap that owned the B&B was helpful and friendly.
-The rads in my room were not very hot so i was given a fan heater.
-ensuite - powerful shower

Bad points

-Tiny en-suite - (served it's purpose i suppose) funny smell from the en-suite every morning (problem with drainage, i think!). Also when you turn the water you hear a rumbling noise every 10-15sec for a couple of secs(annoying)

-Everyday my breakfast table was dirty and it was only half cleaned on my last day. What got to me most was DIRTY cups, cutlery and teapot (not a one off either) everyday, if it was not one then it was the other. NO EXCUSE FOR THAT.

SEE FOR YOURSELF WHEN/IF YOU DECIDE TO STAY.

-Breakfast was about a 4.5 out of 10.

THEY DON'T MENTION THEY HAVE A CAT WHEN YOU BOOK OR ON THEIR WEBSITE - SO BEWARE IF YOUR ALLERGIC OR YOU DON'T LIKE CATS.

I can only assume the other reviewers are very easily pleased.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BroadstairsBeachdude, Owner at Number 68 B&B, responded to this review, February 24, 2011
We were very sorry to read the comments submitted by this guest - readers of previous reviews will note that this varies widely from what 99% of other writers have written. We felt we tried our best to accommodate this guest's needs during his stay; for instance, when he made the booking over the phone he asked us if he could use our microwave to heat up his evening meals because of his dietary requirements. We agreed without hesitation, although, being a Bed and Breakfast in a town that has 26 eating places this was an unusual request! We also stored his pre-prepared food in our refrigerator and offered him access to the kitchen at all times. We supplied him with an electric fan heater when he complained that his room was cold. In our publicity we have been careful to describe the ensuite in that room as "small" so he should not have been surprised by its size. The bathroom in that particular room has a macerator which runs for around 5 to 10 seconds to take water away (there are no drains, these are all at the back of the house). There is a notice in the bathroom explaining about the macerator. The room this guest stayed in is the largest (and most popular) of the three we let, and he was offered this room at 42% of the usual double room occupancy rate (a discount he chooses to ignore in his write-up).

All cutlery and crockery is washed in the dishwasher, and tables are cleaned daily; we apologise for any discrepancies (which certainly do not happen on a daily basis) of cleanliness that might have been experienced.

Finally, we did ask this guest if he was bothered by Merlin, our cat, while he was preparing food in our kitchen and he assured us he was fine and that he got on well with cats. His comment therefore about cats was surprising, to say the least.

What a shame he didn't mention any of his complaints to us in person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010 via mobile

Third time we go there. The rooms are large and nicely decorated. The location is fantastic (next to the sea on a very quiet street, easy to park too). The owner are extremly nice. It is really a gem in Broadstairs. Of course, breakfast was fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

My boyfriend and I loved staying at Number 68. Our hosts made us feel very welcome and relaxed.

We stayed in the French Room which was very pretty, with a very comfortable bed.

We had our own private bathroom (not ensuite, but that was fine) with a great shower plus nice toiletries, plenty of towels etc.

The house is lovely, very light and airy and decorated in a modern style with cute retro touches.

We really appreciated the fact that we could choose when to have breakfast. We are not early risers and it was great to come down to breakfast at 10.30am. We also liked being able to check out as late as 12pm.

The breakfast was delicious: fresh fruit salad, cereals, greek yoghurt, home-grown rhubarb and strawberries and a choice of a cooked breakfast with local sausages, bacon, eggs etc. There were newspapers to read (The Guardian and The Observer) on both mornings, and a choice of music on the iPod!

The hosts were friendly and had lots of suggestions for things to do, places to eat etc without being overbearing.

The location of the B&B is brilliant - a few minutes from the sea and 5 minutes walk from the centre of Broadstairs.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

This is a truely wonderful B&B, tucked away, only a stones throw from the beach in Broadstairs. The hosts, Michael and Christina were lovely, very welcoming, with coffee, tea and biscuits on arrival. Our room, the French Room was beautifully decorated with a seperate bathroom (bath and shower) and very nice complimentary toiletries. The breakfast was simply delicious, a range of cereals, fresh fruit salad, yoghurt and locally sourced ingredients for a 'made to order' cooked breakfast. Michael offered no end of idea's for our stay, from things to see and do, to places to eat, all with added wit and a smile. This is a B&B that simply needs to be revisited and we are planning on doing that as soon as our calendar allows! It deserves high praise indeed.
Just watch out for the boss of the establishment, Merlin, the cat. He's a softie really!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

Very welcoming with tea and biscuits on arrival and spacious room with very large comforable bed (Chinese room). Despite having work done in the kitchen at the time the breakfast was excellent - particularly enjoyed the fresh fruit salad. Also appreciated the Guardian newspaper! On quiet residential road handy for seafront and restaurants, shops etc just a short walk.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Number 68 B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 68 B&B

Address: 68 West Cliff Road, Broadstairs CT10 1PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Broadstairs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Broadstairs
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Number 68 B&B Broadstairs, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Number 68 B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.