We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Copperfields Guest House

Copperfields Guest House
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Copperfields Guest House to your Saves list
Copperfields Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   11 Queens Road, Broadstairs CT10 1NU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 25 Broadstairs B&B and Inns
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

A beautiful period house near the centre of Broadstairs. Close to the high street and seafront, and well placed for trains and local buses. The tastefully decorated rooms are very comfortable and warm with everything you could want provided. Roger and Sue look after your every need and nothing is too much trouble, and you don't have to be vegetarian to enjoy the excellent breakfasts. Local restrictions don't allow parking near the guest house, but you can usually find on-street parking nearby.
All the awards Copperfields have are well deserved.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
36
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perthshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

Thoroughly nice people providing a first class service. Spotlessly clean, delicious breakfasts (you won't even notice they're vegetarian if you aren't one yourself - I'm not). Had lovely quiet room at the back (lots of garden birds - lovely). Minutes from sea, right near shops and close to really good evening meals: cheap fish and chip cafe; stylish, friendly and reasonable Italian restaurant; hotel restaurant with sea views

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

The warm welcome we received confirmed we had chosen well. Sue & Roger go that
extra mile to make sure everything is just right for a perfect stay in their lovely home. Beautiful comfortable rooms, plenty of toiletries, ample supply of drinks & delicious breakfasts makes Copperfields unbeatable in our opinion. Would return to Broadstairs just for the pleasure of staying here

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

I'm writing this a while after my stay having seen the awful review by a previous guest. Copperfields is a lovely B&B and it has the added bonus of being completely vegetarian. They even ask you not to bring meat onto the premises such are their principles. I stayed here as a business traveller as my regular hotel had gone into silly season prices. The room was comfortable and well equiped. The only glimpse of a dog that I saw was at breakfast and they were both very well behaved. Roger and Sue could do with being a little more flexible. I had to arrive by 7pm as they were going out for dinner and they moved breakfast forward, a little grudgingly, for my earlier working start. However, in the morning, they couldn't have been friendlier.
Food was excellent and I truly admire their commitment to the cause. I would love to bring my veggie family here, but they told me that they only cater for the older child.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

I love that Copperfields is veggie so no smell of vile bacon in the morning and it's very clean and nice, the owners are very nice too. The drawbacks are that breakfast is served between 8.30am and 9am which is far too early and as most places give you a longer breakfast time it's a little annoying and having to check out by 10am seems a little unfair, especially as we were there on Valentine's day, I wouldn't visit again due to these facts. If you are a veggie early bird you will like it.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

Just wanted to add a quick, if slightly outdated, review - the reason I've bothered writing anything after such a long period of time is that the high level of customer service has stuck in my mind ! We stayed for a couple of nights at Copperfields during a weekend break in Broadstairs and have to say that nothing seemed like too much trouble when we were there. The bathroom was well stocked with Original Source products, and there was a big basket of tea making equipment rather than the miserley two teabags you receive in other guesthouses. We also found Sue and Roger to be very pleasant hosts. Thankyou

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2008

I can't imagine what made somebody call these people rude, they seemed lovely to me!

Very nice room, lots of little nice touches and very clean. Unfortunately missed breakfast but it all looked great.

  • Liked — Room quality and friendly
  • Disliked — I think the half hour window for breakfast is maybe not long enough.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Copperfields Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copperfields Guest House

Address: 11 Queens Road, Broadstairs CT10 1NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Broadstairs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Broadstairs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Copperfields Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Copperfields Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copperfields Guest House Broadstairs, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copperfields Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.