We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Thanet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Albion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Albion Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Albion Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 - 12 Albion St, Broadstairs CT10 1AN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Broadstairs
perth
1 review
“Best Hotel in Thanet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

Great service ,friendly locals , terrific beachs , cold larger .

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    121
    37
    11
    7
See reviews for
50
159
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

A smart elegant primrose yellow regency hotel which is situated bang in the heart of Broadstairs. The front leads out into the pretty town with lots of little characterful restaurants and local shops and the back of the hotel overlooks a beautiful sandy beach and harbour. Staff very attentive and friendly and food in restaurant better than average and cooked breakfast very good and generous - and oh what a view to eat breakfast to overlooking the beach and harbour - stunning. Overall the hotel felt busy, friendly, welcoming and right in the heart of the action. Broadstairs was buzzing when we stayed - it had a great atmosphere and seemed to attract everyone from groups of teenagers, families with small children, sophisticated business people doing lunch and older people too. The balcony rooms really do have the most stunning views - well worth paying that bit extra although the rooms themselves are quite traditional and not of a boutique nature. This is a good solid fairly conventional hotel that is welcoming to all and in an absolutely fabulous location.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

We decided to go to Broadstairs in search of big sandy beaches and we were not disappointed. The Royal Albion is essentially a pub/bar with 21 rooms. The bar/restaurant area has been recently renovated and sports a great sea view. Only 6 of the 21 rooms have been renovated so make sure you get one of those as the others are really old and not worth the 3 stars the hotel has. There is no lift, no parking (although a nearby car park is often available and the hotel offers tickets) and the reception is often unmanned as, during busy times, the receptionist turn into waitress for the bar/pub. The entrance to the pub/bar is the same as the hotel so security may be an issue. The hotel is not really designed for kids although the people there have been helpful. The family room is really a double room with bank beds to accomodate the kids so we all felt a bit squeezed. The bar offers essentially pub food although there is a kids menu. The area around the hotel is full of fish and chips shops and cheap thai restaurant. the overall feeling is low end vacation town. One thing deserves note: the adjacent Osteria posillipo. A family run Italian restaurant which offers very good and authentic Italian food. the wooden owen pizza is surely worth a try.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

We turned up at 5pm on Friday night with no booking and found the receptionist helpful and informative. We took a room with a sea view and it was well worth it. The room and bathroom was spacious. Bed was also very comfortable. It was refreshing to see a modern and well run hotel in a seaside town. It also occupies a very central location in the town overlooking Viking Bay so the views are excellent.

The hotel is well run, well looked after and staff helpful. We had dinner in town but we had a very relaxing and tasty breakfast at the hotel. Service was very good and the staff helpful explaining what was available for breakfast.

They also give you a voucher for free parking!

Only complaint (and it's such a tiny one) is that the water in the kettle looked a little suspect.

We had a very enjoyable time in Broadstairs and I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2009

Tremendously overpriced, but if you get a room with a view it is a dream. Good breakfast.

Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2008

This Hotel has undergone a transformation in the last 12 months. Our party booked 8/9 rooms and nobody was disappointed including my hard to please brother in law. (ages from 18 to 80). Work is still on going funded with the deeper pockets of a local brewery. I suspect this will regain the title of best hotel in the area very soon. Helpful nice staff and very clean. The kitchens and bar area are next for a refurb. I think after Christmas 2008.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2008

We stayed at the Albion several years ago when it was privately owned and at that time needed updating.
It is now owned by Shepherd Neame, the Brewery company.
They are certainly spending money on the place and in my veiw well spent. The garden over looking the sea has had a complete makeover and it looks superb, a lovely space to relax and enjoy a drink.
Our bedroom was also refurbished making it fresh and bright and luxuriously fitted out.
We were told the public areas were next in line to be done but never the less are comfortable and attended by very pleasant and helpful staff.
Being owned by Shepherd Neame meant there was a good selection of beer and wines served to a high degree of attention.
The food especially breakfast is not to be missed, so we can't wait to go back when the kitchens are enlarged and modernised.
All in all a most enjoyable stay.

  • Liked — Ideal position and good service
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Albion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albion Hotel

Address: 6 - 12 Albion St, Broadstairs CT10 1AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Broadstairs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Broadstairs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Albion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Albion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albion Hotel Broadstairs, Kent
Albion Hotel Broadstairs
Hotel Broadstairs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Albion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.