We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gone down hill” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Albion Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royal Albion Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Albion Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 - 12 Albion St, Broadstairs CT10 1AN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Broadstairs
broadstairs
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Gone down hill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Been visiting this hotel (bar and restaurant only) for years as I'm local to Broadstairs. Recently the service and cleanliness has gone down hill. Perhaps it's cos I'm a female over 50, but I'm certainly invisible when it comes to getting served! Added to this overall service is poor, tables rarely cleared and cleanliness of toilets is poor, particularly the toilet on the ground floor. In my opinion, staff are wearing a uniform that is dull and uninspiring. I know other locals feel likewise. Would complain to management but have been told by other locals that no notice is taken in Broadstairs or at head office. It's busy now so it's packed but they need to rely on us in the quieter months.mCome on Shepard Neame...up your game! On th positive, the menu while limited is usually of god quality.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    103
    34
    11
    5
See reviews for
43
143
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The location of this hotel is ideal and has amazing views of the beach and the harbour, the large terrace and garden is always popular with residents and passers by so get there early if its a sunny day.
We have eaten here many times and the food is consistently good, stayed over for a few days recently. Its worth paying that little extra for the sea view when selecting your room, the rooms on the top floor offer the best views, however all are comfortable and tastefully done, we had 6 different rooms for our group of friends and all offered something even the town facing rooms The staff are attentive and friendly and made us feel very welcome

Room Tip: Asking when booking, they are open and honest about best rooms if they are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Didn't stay but stopped for breakfast as we were passing.
Lots of choice, all very reasonably priced although they had run out of croissants by 10am!!
Eggs benedict royal and continental breakfasts highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I've never stayed here or tried the food but it serves the best cappuccino I've found in Broadstairs. Really strong and full of taste. Reasonable price and very efficient staff. Nice view from the balcony. The garden is also a great place for a beer if the weather is good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton-on-Thames
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had a lovely stay during folk week, the room was smallish, but vey nicely presented, and very comfortable, with a decent size bathroom. Throughout our stay the staff were friendly and helpful, and made us feel very welcome. A young man kindly took all our luggage up to the top floor, with no grumbles. As it was Folk Week it was extremely busy, and rather noisy... Every night, until the early hours of the morning, we had a "town facing" room, rather than a sea facing one, but I think the sea facing ones would be just as noisy, as the bar and seafront were rammed. I think this is just something you have to expect on Folk Week, and it's hardly the fault of the hotel. The beds were so comfortable, and we were so worn out from our daily seaside activities we still managed a decent nights sleep, after a large brandy. And it was fun to be at the heart of things, people watching out of the window in the early hours of the morning is great free entertainment!

On the downside we were disappointed to find that we couldn't book a table in the hotel restaurant (a first at any hotel we have stayed at) because it was Folk Week. I would have expected guests to have taken priority. When we did get a meal, by getting into the restaurant at 6.30 on the Sunday evening we were disappointed to find that they were not doing Roast Dinners... Something we were looking forward to. The menu, sans roasts, was a little limited, and could have done with a salad or two for some variety from the usual seaside fare of "chips with everything"... one of the reasons we fancied a roast dinner! On a positive note, the breakfasts were excellent, with friendly attentive staff. Full English, kippers, continental, bacon and sausage sarnies and pancake stack were all sampled! On a less pleasant note, the gents toilets near reception had a distinct odour of wee... Although I'm sure they'd been cleaned, and to give them the benefit of the doubt I'd put this down to overuse by the folk week hordes, both from the thronged bar and from off the street. So, most of the niggles could be put down to folk week, and if you are looking for a quiet stay, I would avoid this time, As the hotel is right in the heart of the festivities. But the town is so full of life, music and fun, we really enjoyed our week in Broadstairs... And our stay at the Royal Albion... A truly memorable holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Decided to take a quick over night break even though it was fairly pricey for what you get! with my husband & booked into the Royal Albion - first off there were issues with the booking on line so needed to phone hotel to check payment hadn't gone through twice.
Once sorted looked forward to our visit especially with the good weather we having been having, on checking in the receptionist was polite & we found our room tucked right up on the 3rd floor - it is a bit or a trek with the stairs but we knew there was no lift so excepted it.
We didn't eat in the hotel but sat out on the terrace for a drink - wow the bar was dearer than our London prices we are used to & the bar service wasn't great...
The room was small but clean & tidy but the plumbing for the bath/shower could be looked at.
The breakfast was fair but the girls attitude was disgraceful - if she didn't want to be there don't take it out on the customers all we did was ask for toast which seemed to come to all other guests without asking - you would have throughout we wanted a pot of gold!!!!
The Internet is also misleading regards pets - the hotel only have dogs on the terrace - not a dog friendly hotel as on check out enquiring about the website were told to book into the B&B down the road - we fully intend to as the Royal Albion certainly don't want use or our dog....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We really enjoyed staying here. Hotel is ideal for the beach. Staff are friendly and welcoming to children. Food very good. Spotlessly clean room. Definitely recommending it to my friends and family as a super place to stay by the sea.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Albion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albion Hotel

Address: 6 - 12 Albion St, Broadstairs CT10 1AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Broadstairs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Broadstairs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Albion Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Royal Albion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albion Hotel Broadstairs, Kent
Albion Hotel Broadstairs
Hotel Broadstairs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Albion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.