We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place, perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Da's Thai Diner

Da's Thai Diner
168 High Street, Broadstairs CT10 1JA, England
01843 860807
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 101 Restaurants in Broadstairs
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Love this place, perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Only down side is you have to book in advance as it gets so busy being a small restaurant, I have yet to find a better Thai, fresh tasty food, value for money, BYO drinks

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    5
    4
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food, at a great price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Having eaten at Da's on many occasion, I have to say the food is excellent. I love the starters, and I have been begging her for her Thai Green Curry recipe! It is very reasonably priced, and you certainly won't leave hungry. You can bring your own alcohol, or soft drinks, which is an added bonus. She is a wonderful host, along with her son. And I have nothing but praise for the restaurant. I see there are some negative comments, I guess you can't please everyone. But a definite thumbs up from this end!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Appearances aren't everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

OK this place has been in Broadstairs for ages but for some reason I have never been. Friends have recommended the place so finally I did go with my wife , daughter and her boyfriend.

I started with the Tom Yam soup and I use this as a yardstick as if they don’t get this right then forget the rest (see my review of Yama’s Margate). It was lovely. The starters were good and the mains very good. The chap serving was nice and personable.

The surprise was the bill at the end. We did have the set meal with the three soups and add on seafood main but for four less than £75! Admittedly it is a BYO, which cuts down the bill a bit but I felt well fed and my wallet wasn’t mugged and ransacked.

Any downsides? From the outside it looks unprepossessing and inside it is cramped but clean. I would suggest booking, always.

Will I go back? Yes definitely.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Unbelievable place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

i have eaten lots of Thai in my life but this place is the best of the lot. We had the honour of eating there last friday night (29.3.13) when George kindly fitted us in and it was just superb. Take your own drinks with you (seriously) and you def have to book. There are only approx 26 covers but the service and quality of food is second to none. George and his mom make you feel like one of the family and the only disapointing thing was that we had to leave the restaurant at the end of the night. This is a real gem and one we will definately revisit time and time again.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsgate, null, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Back Again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I had another dinner evening at Da's Thai Diner last week and it was excellent once again. Nice atmosphere, Superb food and Im looking forward to doing some more. Another great night Thank you Da, George and Vinny. See you soon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da's Thai Diner also viewed

Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
 
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to Da's Thai Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Da's Thai Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.