We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Chinese food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New China Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
New China Inn
8 Charlotte Street, Broadstairs CT10 1LR, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 100 Restaurants in Broadstairs
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Broadstairs
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Chinese food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Great Chinese food in a lovely family atmosphere - have been going for years and still our number one Chinese in the area. Food always delicious and staff always friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Traditional Old Skool Chinese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Visited recently with family, as it was late, we had made no bookings and just wanted something easy.

Food was good quality and well presented. Sure it wasnt the most imaginative but it was what I call 'Old Skool Chinese', like you used to get in the 70's and 80's :-)

Good value also. Recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Everything but the plates were deep fried!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Well what can I say. The service was good but the food was terrible as every thing seemed to be deep fried. The sweet and sour chicken was like a bullet, rice had no flavour and god knows what they put in our other dishes, they tasted like fairy liquid. This is typical eat as much as you like food but at restaurant prices (and it isn't eat as much as you like). We certainly won't be going back.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Service with a smile....grotty restaurant!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

I feel bad about giving this place such a poor review as the staff were lovely and friendly but it really was the worst Chinese Ive ever had, and I honestly eat anything!
The restaurant itself is pretty small with only about 8 tables and is terribly shabby- peeling wallpaper, broken and damaged chairs, faded and ripped decor. It was roughly half full but I got the feeling that most of the diners were regulars.
The food was very bog-standard chinese takeaway quality, nothing special and most of our dishes tasted odd in some way or another. My crispy chilli beef was cloyingly sweet and the special fried rice looked like it had been bought from Iceland supermarket for a pound! We all ended up leaving most of our meals and feeling very disappointed as we absolutely love chinese food and this was just so far off the mark and most certainly not 'restaurant quality' food.
We'll stick to our local takeaway in future and continue our search for a decent Chinese restaurant in Thanet...anyone have any recommendations?!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great Chinese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011 via mobile

Family run friendly restaurant.
Wonderful food good service nothing is to much trouble, it gets my vote for the best Chinese in the area. Love it.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New China Inn also viewed

Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
 
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to New China Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New China Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.