We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the faijtas but everything has got smaller!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chiquito - Thanet

Chiquito - Thanet
Westwood Cross Retail Park, Haine Road | Westwood, Broadstairs CT12 5AD, England
01843 579320
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 95 Restaurants in Broadstairs
Cuisines: Mexican, Grill
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Love the faijtas but everything has got smaller!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

I have returned here many times however the sizes have got smaller and seem to continue too. Being back the free tortillas. The popcorn is not nice! However the food is good but they need to be a little more generous with sizes.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    30
    11
    11
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bad changes!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I used to absoutely love this place! It used to be the only restaurant i'd go too. I didn't go for a few months and when I came back, it had all changed for the WORSE.

I used to love the tortilla chips you get before your meal, but they have now replaced them with horrible salty spicy popcorn. It really does takes that mexican feel away.

The menu has all changed too, everything has got more expensive, the portions are alot smaller and all my old favourites have gone.

Used to be an perfect resturant but now it's just pretty standard.

The service is good, but everything else has gone down hill.

Really dissapointed with the awful changes.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Where have my tortilla chips gone?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Used to really enjoy this restaurant. Nice little bowl of tortilla chips upon arrival with salsa which my girls loved and a really nice fajita meal available for children. Not only good food and moving away from nuggets, fish fingers, burger all with chips but a good experience having to wrap then themselves.
Upon next visit tortilla chips replaced by popcorn? Waiter quite honest, just blamed the fact that the popcorn was cheaper. I cannot believe the original tortilla's were more than 10p per portion per table. Seemed very strange cutbacks baring in mind the Mexican influence.
The fajitas were also condemned, the portion had shrunk and the ingredients now included a ton of sweetcorn, that traditional Mexican accompaniment and had lost all it's authenticity.
Asked the waiter again and blamed cost over anything else. Shame for the restaurant because we always had San Miguel and the odd cocktail which I guess is a good money maker but will never be going again. The restaurant is also adjacent to Nando's, F&Bennies and Ask so you would think competition would be quite fierce and the need to be competitive quite vital in it's existence.
Have not been back and do not plan to.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Regular diner at Chiquito”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Chiquito's is always my first choice for lunch/dinner when visiting Westwood Cross. The staff are always very friendly and helpful, always introduce themselves by name to you and go out of their way to make sure your dinner is ok. We had a problem recently where a part of our dinner was not cooked thoroughly, I never like to complain in a restaurant but I spoke to the waiter and he took it straight into the kitchen, a few minutes later the duty manager brought over a freshly cooked dish which was perfect. Recently the menu has changed and a lot of my favourite dishes have been removed and the prices have been increased but this is nothing to do with just this particular restaurant and you can still get the lunch menu up until 5pm which is excellent value! They now do refill drinks which is better. The staff really make the place great and its always clean, the only problem is that they seem to always have the door open which means you can get quite cold if your seated by the door.

Would recommend this place to anyone but would be nice to see the complimentary nachos and salsa back rather than the 'spicy popcorn'! Still it's free so a nice touch.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant staff, thanks Mick!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Wonderful food, but the experience made so much better by Mick, the assistant manager, who really made our visit lovely. He looked after us and our two boys, making it a really family friendly visit. We're certainly coming back. Thanks Mick and the team!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiquito - Thanet also viewed

Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
 
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
Croydon, Greater London
 

Been to Chiquito - Thanet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chiquito - Thanet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.