We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great little beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joss Bay

Joss Bay
Joss Gap Road, Broadstairs, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 19 attractions in Broadstairs
Type: Beaches
Attraction Details
Crayford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great little beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

fab clean family friendly got yr cafe shop surf school the toilets could be a little cleaner but was busy day al in all great family day out

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    20
    6
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, Kent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Joss bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Lovely safe beach for children. Lifeguards as an extra safety feature. Went as a church group and had a BBQ, then played games. Sand ideally suited for that. Didn't use shop but it sold everything u needed for the beach. Also it does have a surf school.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Always A Great Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Really good day as always, the shops are good and decently priced considering they could take advantage of their isolated location they don't and still provide good quality.
Rock pools are full of exciting creatures however I'm disjointed when I see people abusing the wildlife and taking them out of the water and leaving. Them to die :(

Good space and although there is thing like a bouncy castle and slide the workers don't abuse the beach and leave it mainly to its natural self.

Only negative is the toilets aren't particularly clean, no matter what time it is and I think the ships could extend their opening time.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Busier than I thought”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Although a lovely little bay, it still seemed to me to be a bit busier than I like. I like deserted beaches and this was far from that. Admittedly it was a very hot day, the car park was packed and thus the beach was very busy.But lots of lovely sand, and plenty of children and families

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Joss bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Can't Rave about this beach enough. Its a bit of a hidden gem unless you are familiar with East Kent, or should I say Thanet. In fact this area boasts 5 of the cleanest beaches in the UK. But lets focus on Joss Bay, a beautiful soft sandy beach with a surf school offering lessons and equipment including canoes and paddle boards. Life guards, a great cafe/shop which can supply almost all your needs if you just turn up without and kit. Areas for barbecue and when the tide is out the opportunity to walk to margate (2 miles) or Ramsgate (3 miles). Only downfall is parking when this place is busy you may have to walk a little ways but believe me its worth it. free parking along the golf coarse road. Like most seaside places at weekends it can be very busy but during the week school (holidays etc) you get much more space.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joss Bay also viewed

Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
Kingsgate, Isle of Thanet
 
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
Birchington, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to Joss Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joss Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Joss Bay to your Saves list