We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely meal with good surroundings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Charles Dickens

The Charles Dickens
5-6 Victoria Parade, Broadstairs CT10 1QS, England
01843 603040
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Charles Dickens is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 101 Restaurants in Broadstairs
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Homely meal with good surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have watched this pub being refurbished and were interested to see the result. It is great, comfortable and cosy. We ordered fish pie which was 'open' the fish and sauce were delicious but the mash potato was pretty dire, pale and sticky. I am sure that if you were to dine upstairs you would have a tremendous view of the sea. Will go again but not for the mash.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    66
    24
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fine dining in a cold draughty building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We dined in the copper field restaurant upstairs and found the service very good. The food was delicious although parsnips very hard but we were really cold from the draughty poorly fitting windows. A fab refurb was let down by lack of secondary glazing and huge gaps let a strong breeze into the restaurant. The tiny rads will not stand a chance of heating the place and people opening the door to the smoking balcony made it even colder! The salted caramel chocolate pot was the highlight of the meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Expectations!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We went out to dinner with the parents and upon arrival I noticed firstly how noisy it was - but it is a pub! The restaurant is upstairs which bothered me slightly as my father-in-law is in his late 80's and walks with sticks but the stairs were very wide and comfortable to manage if that makes sense. The entire building seems to have been totally renovated and very tastefully so. We were shown to our table by the window which was super as it was still day light and we could watch the sun go down, the lights come on along Broadstairs sea front and watched the town come alive for a lovely Friday night. The food was very good, with a varied menu and all looking good when it arrived at the table. I had the roasted duck leg with a simple mash potato on the bottom which was velvety smooth and accompanied with a gorgeous red wine sauce. It was perfect for me as I do not like big meals The service equally good and nothing was too much trouble and they were all smiles all evening. The biggest problem for us was that we needed to park close to the restaurant and there are 2 disabled spaces directly outside which were in use and with people inconsiderately parked directly behind them as well and when one space became available, it was impossible for anyone else to drive directly into the available space. Be aware if needing to take or drop off anyone who is not mobile. But.. all in all a lovely evening out, superb food, great staff and a lovely atmosphere, with extremely clean facilities. Will certainly be going back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Miserable waitress”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

I (along with 7 friends) had Sunday lunch upstairs in the restaurant yesterday and was served by several different waitresses. Most were pleasant and friendly especially one who had a broken hand. Unfortunately the waitress who took our orders was miserable and unfriendly. She definitely needs customer service training. The surroundings were very nice and the roast dinners were adequate but nothing special.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“BP”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We reserved a table for 8.30 and stood around for three or four minutes before we were able to attract the attention of one of the two waiting staff on duty. We were seated at a small table which was sited against a pillar which was disappointing as the restaurant was not very busy and there were many other better tables available. As we were looking at the menu one of the waiters invited us without any prompting from us to move to another table at the window that had just become available overlooking the beach, the sea and the bustling prom. Wow what a difference, the restaurant is on the first floor and the view was outstanding. My wife had a query with a sauce which came with one of the meals and as the waitress was unsure as to the answer, she happily went to the kitchen to consult with the chef. We ordered our meals and although we had quite a long wait before my starter was delivered to the table, a waitress did apologise and assure us it would not be much longer. As we were not in a hurry and we were really enjoying the view and our drinks, we was not at all bothered with the delay. The starter I ordered, the potted beef was disappointing, there was little of it and it had very little taste. On the plus side, the toasted crusty bread and the sweet red cabbage that accompanied the starter was very good. The main courses arrived promptly, they were piping hot which we prefer and the portions were large. The skate wing I chose had little taste although the source served with it saved the day. The ribs and chunky chips met with my wife's approval. To sum up the food on this occassion was acceptable without being anything special.The staff were very friendly and attentive although you should of course only seat diners at your worst tables when the restaurant is full. The table we were given overlooking sea made the evening and my wife indicated I should tip the staff well.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Charles Dickens also viewed

Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
 
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to The Charles Dickens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Charles Dickens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.