We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cloonlara Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broadstairs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cloonlara Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Cloonlara Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   5 Ramsgate Road, Broadstairs CT10 1QQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 25 Broadstairs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“lovely B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

It only takes a few words to describe Cloonlara and those words are all positive :-)
Great location, lovely big bedroom, beautiful building, exceedingly tasty breakfast and very warm hosts. A real Gem.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloonlara, Owner at Cloonlara Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Thank you so much for the lovely review. It was lovely meeting you both and hopefully you will be in Broadstairs again.

Kind Regards
Bernadette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
62
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We originally wanted 4 nights but our chosen B&Bs where booked, so after 2 nights in another we were sad to have to leave it...little did we know that moving to the Burgundy Suite in Cloonlara was going to more than make up for it!
The room is light & airy, & easily large enough for a comfortable stay for 2. It & the en-suite are clean & in a very good state (fairly recently refurbished?). The hosts where helpful & extremely friendly, the breakfasts large & tasty.
My only MINOR reservation would possibly be the busy (for Broadstairs road nearby) but outside of what I call traffic hours (8am-8pm) it was not a problem & it actually meant Cloonlara was easily accessible by car AND The excellent Loop Bus Service!
ENJOY YOUR STAY (just don't book the room when we want to return please!!!)!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenhithe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

My husband and i enjoyed our stay at Cloonlara. Berni and Brian were very friendly and breakfast was fantastic. Definately recommend this B&B to anyone visiting Broadstairs.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bean
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

This b&b is lovely. We stayed in the louisa room which had a massive bed and huge bathroom. Beautifully decorated and clean. Bernadette and brian were great with recommendations for the local area. Breakfast was fantastic. Would definitely stay here again and most likely will do in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welling, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

This is our second stay at Cloonlara in 2 1/2 years and the service was just as great as the first time. Bernadette and Brian are great hosts and gave us a really warm welcome when we arrived. As we were only down for an overnight stay Bernadette and Brian allowed us to arrive earlier so that we had as long a time as possible to spend at Broadstairs. We again chose the Burgundy suite which was spotlessly clean and there was everything there that you would need from tea/coffee facilities to bathrobes. For breakfast there was a variety of choices with plenty of tea, cofffee, fruit juices and toast as you wanted.
Cloonlara is a real gem of a place being situated roughly 2 mins from the beach, shops, restaurants and the town centre. The only downside to Cloonlara is having to leave such friendly, fun hosts and having to come home.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

The hospitality, comfort, cleanliness & food was excellent ticks all the boxes & we will be back

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

I stayed one night in Cloonlara in Broadstairs, Kent with two girlfriends in July 2011. The B and B lived up to its wonderful reputation on Tripadvisor. The rooms were immaculately clean and nicely decorated. There were lovely extra little touches e.g bottled water and dressing gowns. The owners Bernadette and Brian were really friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was lovely and we got a great reccomendation for lunch on the seafront. The B and B is a short walk from everything e.g the seafront, shops, resturaunts etc. and for us was perfect in every way, particularly for couples and friend breaks away like our own. Excellently priced also!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cloonlara Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloonlara Bed & Breakfast

Address: 5 Ramsgate Road, Broadstairs CT10 1QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Broadstairs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Broadstairs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cloonlara Bed & Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cloonlara Bed & Breakfast is a large Victorian house set back from the sea front and within five minutes walk to the beach as well as a short walk to a variety of shops, bars and restaurants. Our B & B is only a few miles from excellent golf courses and many sites of historic interest such as the Clinque Ports of Sandwich, Ramsgate and Canterbury. We have three en-suite rooms. We offer both double and twin rooms. Each room includes a colour, flat-screen television with freeview, radio, tea & coffee making facilities, hairdryer and razor points as standard. Ironing facilities are available on request. Wireless Internet access is available in all rooms. We provide a traditional Full English or Continental Breakfast. Special diets catered for by prior arrangements. Our terrace offers the ideal setting for breakfast or for relaxing in after a long day at the beach. We provide off-road parking for two cars. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cloonlara Bed & Breakfast Broadstairs, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cloonlara Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.