We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now I know where all the sparrows have gone!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nando's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Nando's
Unit 49 Westwood Cross, Margate Road | Westwood, Broadstairs CT10 2BF, England
01843 866 329
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 92 restaurants in Broadstairs
Cuisines: Portuguese, Grill
Restaurant details
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Now I know where all the sparrows have gone!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I have just paid my first ever visit to Nando's. My step-daughter raves about the place, and today, my wife and I, and the family, went there. I was impressed by the cleanliness and the atmosphere, and the staff were pleasant and friendly. However, the food, although very good, and nicely presented, was, I felt, rather expensive for what it was. My chicken burger, served with chips and coleslaw, came to nearly £10. There was very little chicken in the burger - it was more like the breast of a much smaller bird, hence the title of this review - but what there was was very nice indeed. Afterwards, I tried to order carrot cake, only to be informed that they were out of carrot cake. My second choice was chocolate cheesecake, which was absolutely delicious, but for over £4 , I would have expected a larger portion. To conclude, a very nice meal indeed, just not that much of it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

58% Recommend
    4
    16
    6
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Can't stop going here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is one of the better Nando's. It has a very nice layout. They keep the brown wooden Nando's interior but it is still quite modern and is a single open space which is a good size without being too large.

I have gone here once or twice a month for nearly the last 5 years. The experience is generally quite good though there have been a couple of occasions when we haven't liked the staff's attitude.

The best thing about Nando's is their spicy peri peri based food which is inexpensive and delicious. This particular branch has plenty of large round tables which means you can sit comfortably.

The cons are that there can be a long wait on weekend evenings (which is mostly when we go). Parking can be a hassle. I have resorted to parking at the mall which is about a 100 yards away and is empty because the shops have closed by the time we get there. In cold weather the draught can be annoying if you get a table near the door.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Our Favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Only just discovered this branch and have been here at least 4 times, good staff, friendly and good service.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

I visited for first time this month being sceptical and the food I wasn't sure what to expect, the service was a little strange however I found the meal to be very good.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramsgate
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“peri peri good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

lovely food, nice atmosphere, some rubbish tables around but waiters happy to move us. lovely food, chicken on the small side which was disappointing. nice range of suaces to choose from and like the fact that you chose and fill you own drink. service at the front is very slow but friendly all the same. Nice enough

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nando's also viewed

Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
 
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to Nando's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nando's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.