We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great anniversary meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant 54

Restaurant 54
54 Albion Street, Broadstairs CT10 1NF, England
+44 (0)1843 867150
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 101 Restaurants in Broadstairs
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Restaurant 54 is all about the overall experience, food, atmosphere, service & ambience. We are committed to ensuring that all our diners leave with only positive memories. From our bread, with is baked daily, to our homemade desserts ( & popular ice-creams) the kitchen team use only the freshest ingredients to create food that will satisfy & comfort. The front of house staff will be discreet & professional tinged with humour when appropriate. We hope our love of good food & good times will shine through during your visit
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great anniversary meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Once again my wife and I have been to Restaurant 54, this time for a special meal on our 16th wedding anniversary. This especially significant due to Carole's health.
The meal was one of the best we have ever had the pleasure to consume! I had the duck which was frankly sublime. We both shared the sampler dessert and thoroughly enjoyed the varied flavours.
The staff and the service were both 100% but the most marvellous thing was when I went to pay. They gave us our drinks and wouldn't accept payment! This meant so very much to us both-thank you all for that gesture and for our card. It all means very much to us at this time.
We look forward to visiting you again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    50
    19
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“A Slightly Different Return Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Last visited five months ago. The portions are smaller and the background music slightly too loud and possibly inappropriate depending on one's tastes. Did hear there'd been a change of partner/owner a while ago that might have a bearing on this. Anyway, the food is still excellent; just wish there was more of it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fine food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Excellent food and ambience although not an ideal location down at the end of Albion Street. However the general experience was very good.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My new favourite restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

In Broadstairs for only 3 days, we chose to visit Restaurant 54 for our last evening, and we were so pleased we did. Everything was perfect - the food, the service, the decor, the ambience - simply a lovely evening from start to finish. We were spoilt for choice with the menu - everything sounded delicious, and the dishes we chose managed to surpass our expectations when it arrived. Cooked to perfection and beautifully presented, every mouthful was bursting with subtle flavour. The service was excellent, friendly, charming and extremely knowledgeable about everything on the menu, and we felt that nothing would be too much trouble. I had mushroom and tarragon scotch eggs followed by their lamb dish. Lamb like I have never tasted before, succulent, tender and served with peas, bacon and a sauce that tasted like heaven. The icing on the cake for me was finishing the meal with their home-made ice-cream in definitely grown-up flavours. I still can't decide whether their Lemon Meringue Pie ice-cream or their Champagne sorbet was my favourite. I'll just have to go back and try it all again, and yes, it would be well worth the drive there from London.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Takes your breath away. ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We went as a family to celebrate our anniversary whilst on holiday two weeks ago. We chose it because if the good TA reviews, and from outside it looks a smart place.

All in all we had a great meal. The only downside was my wife's dish included a chilli & orange salad. She obviously got a chunk of raw chilli as it stopped her in her tracks. A short while later we saw a lady on a nearby table have the same reaction.

We pointed it out to the waitress who didn't charge us for that dish so it was handled well enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant 54 also viewed

Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
 
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to Restaurant 54? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant 54, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.