We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returning after 25 years.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Devonhurst

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broadstairs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Devonhurst
Save
You added The Devonhurst to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Eastern Esplanade, Broadstairs CT10 1DR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 26 Broadstairs B&B and Inns
Dunstable, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Returning after 25 years.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Just stayed for four nights at the Devonhurst. Our second time there the first back in Apr. 1988. Twenty five years later we thought it was time to return.Everything was five star even David. We had a sea view with balcony it was magic. The room was first class as was the breakfast all in all top of the pops.Wont wait another twenty five years to come back. Regards Geoff & Annette.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew P, Manager at The Devonhurst, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for a great review. We are so glad that we exceeded your expectations and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    25
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
56
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stumbled on this B&B by chance on the Internet. It is a real gem, close to the beach in Broadstairs and a short walk from all the main attractions. Very spatious and comfortable accommodation, run by a very friendly family team. But the highlight is the breakfast: a wide choice of locally sourced food, jams carefully selected by the owners, and perfect poached eggs (we got the recipe!).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew P, Manager at The Devonhurst, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Shhh, don't tell anyone our poached egg secret! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed at the Devonshire on the 30th Aug to 1st Sep enjoyed it so stayed an extra day as it was so nice . We had a sea view with balcony it was magic to wake to the sound of the sea it was that near the beach. Food was great the family running the guest house were so sociable and friendly. Will go back again soon . Thank you again for our stay. Ron and Marie

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 have balcony and sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew P, Manager at The Devonhurst, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for your great review. We try hard to strike a balance between being friendly and not getting in the way so it's great to hear that you felt at home. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed at the Devonhurst, for the second time, in August. Once again, we were reuniting with family visiting Broadstairs from Australia. The Devonhurst is an excellent place to stay. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was superb, using local Kent produce. There was an excellent choice of cooked breakfast items and the toast and home-made jams were a real treat. We couldn't choose a favourite; they were all lovely. We were warmly welcomed by David, Margaret and Matthew, who has recently joined the business. We are definitely going back and hope that by now Margaret's wrist and Kadriye's toe are much better now. Best wishes to you all. Janet & Dennis

Room Tip: The front two rooms on the first floor have a balcony and wonderful sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew P, Manager at The Devonhurst, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
It was great to have you back with us and thank you for leaving us a review. Margaret and Kadriye are both much better and fighting fit! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

A lovely b + b in a lovely location right opposite the sea so nice to hear the sea when you wake up. Had a lovely stay august bank holiday. Margaret was a lovely friendly host and the kent local produce breakfast was wonderful. Throughly recommend and will be returning again in the very near futurexxx c + jxx

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew P, Manager at The Devonhurst, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I agree, you can't beat waking up to the sound of the waves crashing on the beach. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and it's great to hear that our Kent Breakfast made with quality local produce was well received. Margaret and the family look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed 3 nights hosts were so helpful and friendly breakfast was fantastic our room was very clean and comfortable very close to beach and shops The Devonshire was ideal for all our needs lovely place to stay can't wait to go back Thank you again for helping me in my hour of need.Best wishes from Marion Brenda & Daniella x

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew P, Manager at The Devonhurst, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed for one night on the 20 July as we were meeting family in Broadstairs for a birthday celebration. The welcome was fantastic and the family were extremly helpful and friendly. Rooms were basic but adequate and very clean. Breakfast was fantastic using local produce.

We hope to back next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew P, Manager at The Devonhurst, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. It's always great to hear that our breakfast is well liked as we have spent a long time refining it to make it one of the best in Broadstairs. It would be great to see you next year but remember to book early to avoid disappointment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Devonhurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devonhurst

Address: Eastern Esplanade, Broadstairs CT10 1DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Broadstairs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Broadstairs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Devonhurst 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Margaret, David, Matthew and Kadriye welcome you to The Devonhurst. We are a traditional family run guest house situated on the Eastern Esplanade enjoying a cliff top location and we offer 8 en-suite bedrooms including 4 with uninterrupted sea-views all equipped to a high 4 star standard.The Devonhurst had been a traditional family run guest house for over 25 years. We pride ourselves on providing a personal service and welcome you into our business and our home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Devonhurst Broadstairs, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Devonhurst, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.