We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonali Spice

Sonali Spice
8 New Rd, Hornsea HU18 1PF, England
01964 535 260
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 40 Restaurants in Hornsea
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The best curry I've had in years! I ordered a takeaway for my wife and I. It was ready exactly when they said it would be and tasted fantastic. Hornsea's hidden gem. The beginning of a beautiful relationship.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    18
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hornsea, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“a good place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

had a lovely meal here. Only been twice as my partner does not like spicy food. Went with family and really enjoyed it. Food very good.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

I ordered a take away to collect after moving flats all day at 8pm and got told it would take 25 minutes so arrive at 8:25 to be told it won't be long so take a sit. 30 mins after arriving my food finally arrives with no explanation except sorry your naan breads were cooking. No apology while I was waiting for my food like the woman next to me got. The service was appalling and didn't get offered any sort of refund or free food. I have eaten here for years and I feel upset that they have acted and treated me like this. It seems like they had forgotten to cook it from me ordering and only did once I arrived. The waiter also said that between 8pm-8:25pm that all of a sudden the restaurant got full but after looking most the tables were already eating or had already eaten. I wouldn't recommend this place if you want your food to be on time after a busy day because you'll have to spend more time just sat waiting while people who ordered while you were waiting get there food before you.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Just love the food here, and the decorations in the Sonali Spice, hand painted designs are wonderful, been loads of times and taken many different people who also agree with us.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jillybums1
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

went on saturday night at 6.30 and the place was already buzzing, lots of people eating and also collecting takeaway orders. The staff were very polite and efficient . Had poppadoms and pickles to start which was good that i did because the main course and chappatis were lovely and a large serving so i wouldnt have been able to fit it all in . Curry was hot and very tasty ,a good place to go .

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonali Spice also viewed

Hornsea, East Riding of Yorkshire
Hornsea, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Hornsea, East Riding of Yorkshire
Hornsea, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Sonali Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonali Spice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.