We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freshly prepared pub food, lots of choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Marine Hotel

The Marine Hotel
Marine Drive, Hornsea HU18 1NJ, England
01964 532183
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 42 Restaurants in Hornsea
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: http://maps.google.co.uk/maps/place?oe=utf-8&rls=org.mozilla:en-GB:official&client=firefox-a&um=1&ie=UTF-8&q=%22The+Marine+HOtel%22+Hornsea&fb=1&gl=uk&hq=%22The+Marine+HOtel%22&hnear=Hornsea&cid=13539971185619835958
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Freshly prepared pub food, lots of choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We visited twice during our week's holiday and both times found the food fresh, plentiful and delicious. The staff were friendly and helpful. The menu was typical pub food, but with enough choice to keep everyone happy.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    41
    24
    27
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Good food, very good prices. Even a bottle of wine was only £7 which i think is great for a restaurant.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One amazing member of staff runs the place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

I went in with my family. I felt so sorry for a member of staff called amber. Such a polite young woman being ruined in a place like that no help from anyone else. I always note names of staff who are friendly and good but behind the bar there was a young tall lad and he just stood there and kept staring at me before saying can I help? I mean I don't stand there for no good. Amber was so efficient and to me she was doing the work for 3 people because there was another girl just walking around aimlessly with napkins in here hand. The food is good and brilliantly priced. If you want pub food and served by boring people then marine is good and just pray that the young woman is working. Pints are reasonable as well as other drink prices. Good atmosphere with the other locals. Just need to shake the staff up a bit and remove dead wood.

Andrew

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Yorkshire118

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. It was a concern that the level of service on this occasion feel short of our normal expectations. I would therefore like to investigate this further and have sent you a direct message to discuss these comments further.

Kind Regards

John Barras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very pleasant half term visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Good quality well priced food served promptly and politely. Our half term sea front visit treat for our five kids (aged 5 to 12) was rounded off very nicely here. We will be back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“average pub grub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The locals were friendly the food was what you expect in a chain pub and the staff were pleasent and efficient, but the prices were very good

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Marine Hotel also viewed

Hornsea, East Riding of Yorkshire
Hornsea, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Hornsea, East Riding of Yorkshire
Hornsea, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.