We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once was enough.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of On Bong

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
On Bong
39 High Street, Crediton EX17 3JP, England
01363775075
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 29 Restaurants in Crediton
Restaurant details
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Once was enough.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The service from the staff was great. However despite slightly over inflated prices the quality of the food was dismal. what should have been crunchy was soggy and what should have been succulent was dry.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    1
    3
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“great little chinese takeaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Had a great takeaway from here whilst stay in Devon,we all had different dishes and everyone enjoyed the food. Saved me from cooking too which is always a treat,Would always go back here whilst staying in Devon.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“It's ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

It needs to come up to standard if I am honest. I like good food and here it's pretty average. Certainly not the best Chinese takeaway I have ever had but its not the worse either. I don't like to leave bad reviews but I am honest and if you have a choice of another place, I would go for that instead.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lapford
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Food is pretty good, and was freshly prepared, and as others have said, the wait to place a telephone order was unacceptable (4 minutes in our case), but unlike some others I found the service, from the obviously hard working and harrassed lady, friendly and courteous. My only real issue is that the price is high for what is good, but not outstanding, food. Someone who can combine good food with a fast, efficient and friendly service will make a good business in Crediton - take away food shouldn't take 50 minutes from order to collection.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very unpleasant experience!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Lady behind the counter very stressed and at times rude. Leaving people waiting on the phone for far too long. We have to wait a very long time for food even with a phone in order.

Food is only just ok never seems hot enough.

Not going back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On Bong also viewed

 

Been to On Bong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage On Bong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.