We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of On Bong

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
On Bong
39 High Street, Crediton EX17 3JP, England
01363775075
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 29 restaurants in Crediton
Restaurant details
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It's ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

It needs to come up to standard if I am honest. I like good food and here it's pretty average. Certainly not the best Chinese takeaway I have ever had but its not the worse either. I don't like to leave bad reviews but I am honest and if you have a choice of another place, I would go for that instead.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

43% Recommend
    6
    1
    3
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lapford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Food is pretty good, and was freshly prepared, and as others have said, the wait to place a telephone order was unacceptable (4 minutes in our case), but unlike some others I found the service, from the obviously hard working and harrassed lady, friendly and courteous. My only real issue is that the price is high for what is good, but not outstanding, food. Someone who can combine good food with a fast, efficient and friendly service will make a good business in Crediton - take away food shouldn't take 50 minutes from order to collection.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very unpleasant experience!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Lady behind the counter very stressed and at times rude. Leaving people waiting on the phone for far too long. We have to wait a very long time for food even with a phone in order.

Food is only just ok never seems hot enough.

Not going back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Poor at best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Having recently moved to Crediton we tried the local Takeaways. Our first experience of On Bong was not a good one, the food was extremely bland and soggy, it seemed like everything had come out of a packet and into a fryer, as 6 of us were eating at the time we had a very wide variety of things off the menu, every item was the same, and in some cases actually tasted the same, I dont expect to order S&S Pork only to find a tiny nugget of meat surrounded by 3 inches of undercooked oily soggy batter. Everyone with us that night was left very dissapointed.


The second time we went, the food was late and the the lady went through the order only to discover that they had cooked a chicken dish instead of a beef dish...we explained that we ordered beef because we dont like chicken but the lady said "but we cook chicken now, you have chicken", feeling quite astonished we explained again that we did NOT order chicken and we wanted beef, to which she replied "we too busy, you have chicken". Ludicrous.

We have never returned. Those rating On Bong as excellent must have very low standards for their Chinese food. That said, the other Chinese takeaways in Crediton arent much better

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Oriental Food In Crediton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Ong Bong family have got it right. Great Cantonese and Chinese food at good prices. Best to ring your order in as they are normally very busy (this of course is due to the hight quality of the food and the good value for money) We get a 'take out' at least twice a month.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On Bong also viewed

 

Been to On Bong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage On Bong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.