We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Lunch!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pickwick Inn

The Pickwick Inn
St Anns Chapel | Bigbury, Bigbury TQ7 4HQ, England
01548810310
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Bigbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $16
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza & Pasta, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Open for lunch and dinner seven days a week and throughout the afternoon on Saturdays and Sundays, The Pickwick Inn is a great treat for everyone, from those looking for a light lunch to those after a gourmet three or four course meal. Our fully stocked bar is also perfect for those wishing to sample a local real ale or to unwind after exploring the fantastic South Devon scenery.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Delicious Lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

We had lunch at the Pickwick Inn after a morning at Bigbury on Sea. We were warmly welcomed and thoroughly enjoyed the delicious Italian food. My only regret is that this restaurant is not nearer to my home in Bath! Visit the Pickwick Inn - you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    60
    20
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We visited this pub whilst on holiday at Challaborough. The interior has been tastefully decorated and there is a varied menu and good choice of beers at the bar. The 2 meals that we had, the chicken special and spag bol, could not be faulted and the sharing platters and pizzas, that other diners near us ordered, also looked very good. The prices were very reasonable as well and we will be going back when we are next in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food... shame about the pace!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Great food, lovely place, but the service element was sadly lacking.

We'd travelled to Devon for a holiday and pre-booked dinner at The Pickwick for my wife's birthday (I'd mentioned this when booking). Whilst the service we received was quite good when we eventually got it, our table wasn't laid when we arrived (we were a few minutes early, granted), we waited a good while before we were offered drinks and even longer before our food order was taken.

When the food did arrive (it was excellent by the way!), our 'nibbles' arrived at the same time as our Starters (we specifically asked for some nibbles whilst we waited for our food to be prepared) - we did however get a bowl of Balsamic & Oil quite quickly... but the breads arrived with our first course!

Generally, I felt like an unwanted guest – we were treated as if intruders... an inconvenience to the waiting staff. Honestly, I tip very well, and this is the first time for as long as I can recall that I didn't leave a tip at all - I was deeply disappointed that we'd been let down by The Pickwick and wouldn't rush to go back.

Oh, actually, I do have a tip... Jamie... stop standing at the bar chatting and attend to your customers!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Nice surroundings and atmosphere, however, ordered a bottle of Chardonnay and were given a bottle of 'something Spanish' in a wine cooler and not told that they did not have any of the wine we ordered, just replaced with I presume cheaper alternative, only when we complained were we offered an alternative. Ordered garlic bread, which did not arrive until the end of the meal. Husband ordered fish from the menu only to be told 'no fish' although another at the table had a seafood pasta dish which was lacking flavour and disappointing. 2 of our group ordered Carbonara only to find this very bland and lacking seasoning/flavour. Neapolitan pizza was good. All in all we would not recommend for their food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Brilliant!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Myself and my partner visited this public house which has been turned in to a lovely italian eaterie. The food was excellent and tasty and the pizzas were first class. I could not fault this place and the service was good too.

The entrance in to the pub is through an old fashioned wooden door and just adds to the character and experience. Brilliant!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pickwick Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Pickwick Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pickwick Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.