We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pickwick Inn

The Pickwick Inn
St Anns Chapel | Bigbury, Bigbury TQ7 4HQ, England
01548810310
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Bigbury
Price range: $4 - $16
Cuisines: Italian, Pub, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Open for lunch and dinner seven days a week and throughout the afternoon on Saturdays and Sundays, The Pickwick Inn is a great treat for everyone, from those looking for a light lunch to those after a gourmet three or four course meal. Our fully stocked bar is also perfect for those wishing to sample a local real ale or to unwind after exploring the fantastic South Devon scenery.
Harlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed in the village in September and had a lovely evening at The pick wick Inn. The staff were friendly and very attentive. Would be back regularly if lived nearer.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    60
    17
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was our first time at this restaurant. The service was excellent and the food was really good. I had the steak rubbed with garlic and rosemary and it was wonderful. My husband had the special chicken dish which looked lovely and tasted really good. Cannot wait to book again .

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“amazing dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

third time we have dined here, always helpful, always beautiful food, the sirloin steak rubbed with garlic and rosemary is to die for, being a pig I helped my sister finish her spaghetti gorgonzola off and that was lovely too

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Grub good, loo marginal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Friendly staff, a pleasant atmosphere, good service, good food with an Italian flavour. Pizzas excellent, seafood linguine rather heavy going. It's about time the lavatory facilities were upgraded, however! Car park is full of puddles and needs finishing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
827 reviews 827 reviews
489 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
2,531 helpful votes 2,531 helpful votes
“Pizza pub.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Offers a wider menu and has the odd gastro pretension but on our early autumn night it seemed to be mostly pizzas. Not bad. Bit pricey. Unlike a recent reviewer I like mine with less on it. Slight residual pub feel but they obviously want people to come and eat. Interested to learn that it is run by the family who operate the Rhodes place on Plymouth Hoe and the Glassblowing House on Plymouth Barbican, neither of which I think have yet got their formulas right.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pickwick Inn also viewed

 
Kingsbridge, Devon
 

Been to The Pickwick Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pickwick Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.