We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Oyster Shack

The Oyster Shack
Milburn Orchard Farm, Bigbury TQ7 4BE, England
01548 810876
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Bigbury
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Enjoying the glorious summer weather we ventured to the Oyster Shack for a late birthday treat, & what a place! Beautiful setting tucked away in the countryside of Devon, fantastic local food & equally great service. They truly have thought of everything from the nautical inspired decor to presenting the bill in a small wooden chest! Be aware... unless you own shares in Apple or you're a relative of Mr Branson you may find the prices a bit steep! That being said it was a truly enjoyable treat, well worth the money & I would visit again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOysterShack, Owner at The Oyster Shack, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
I am really pleased you enjoyed your experience at The Oyster Shack and thank you for celebrating your birthday with us. As we use the best local seafood prepared and cooked on site coupled with great service, we believe the value of our menu reflects this. October 1st we will be launching our 2 courses for £12 and 3 courses for £14 set menu, seven days a week for lunch and dinner using the same great, local, fresh seafood we pride ourselves on.
Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards
Chris
(Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    92
    26
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“End of season blues perhaps.................”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Sunday lunch, one of us had whitebait for starters, apart from being overcooked they were more batter than fish. I had a large moules.............sadly a bad one amongst them somewhere (although all the shells were open) perhaps the supplier had not washed them thoroughly enough. I know it was the mussels that upset my system as I only had toast for breakfast and nothing to eat after lunch, still suffering and its now Tuesday!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOysterShack, Owner at The Oyster Shack, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Sir,

Firstly thank you for your feedback. Please accept our apologies in regards to your visit on Sunday lunch. It appears this has been an isolated incidence but we do take these matters very seriously and have passed this information on to our suppliers who are investigating the batch. Just for your information and to perhaps give you on-going peace of mind the mussels do pass through a rigorous depuration process to limit the risk of consuming unwanted bacteria. If you have a doctors report that would greatly help to identifying the issue. Due to the nature of the seafood we serve we are carefully monitored to ensure our health and hygiene standards are to the highest levels. We are also very sorry to hear that your whitebait wasn’t up to our usual high standards.
We do hope that this experience hasn’t put you off returning to the Shack in the future and what you have experienced with us is certainly not indicative of the high standards for which we are known.

Kind regards,

Chris
(Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shroton, Dorset, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“We went twice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We went on Tuesday night and it was so good, we were there on Wednesday, the last night of our holiday, too! The staff are lovely, the food is excellent and if you choose carefully it doesn't have to cost the earth. Try the mussels, with a side order of fries and a carafe of sauvignon blanc. Bliss!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“A little gem in the middle of rural England”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Once again it is birthday time and we are off to the The Oyster Shack!

The sun was shining and this added to the smiles and welcome we received. The menu, as always, was imaginative and varied. The 'old favourites' pints of prawns, mussells in various forms and, of course, whole crab and lobster. There was a whole plaice, and various other fresh, juicy fish with delicious sauces and veg.

The deserts were amazing and finished off a thoroughly enjoyable and memorable lunch.

Can't wait for November when we will be back agin!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Well worth finding your way here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We went on a Monday evening- not the best night for any restaurant, but the staff were brilliant, knowledgable and friendly and the food was superb.

We had the seafood platter which was excellent in every way. The crab and oysters particularly were delicious.

The style is quirky, atmospheric and different, it's well worth finding if you love great seafood in a relaxed place

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oyster Shack also viewed

Modbury, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to The Oyster Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oyster Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.