We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never got the chance to find out.....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Old Chapel Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Ann's Chapel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Chapel Inn
Save
You added Old Chapel Inn to your Saves list
St. Ann's Chapel TQ7 4HQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
A TripAdvisor Member
“Never got the chance to find out.....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2006

We didn't get the chance to stay here as they had messed up the booking. My advice if you book over the intenet is phone shortly after to make sure the booking hasn't been mislaid!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    0
    1
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2006

I booked one night for my husband and I. We are expecting a baby in the summer and wanted a nice night away together before baby arrives. The other reviews convinced me I'd made the right choice but we were very disappointed by our experience and were glad we'd only booked for one night. The room we were shown to wasn't the one I'd booked and although it had a double bed in it, was so tiny it was laughable. My husband is tall and broad and could hardly fit in the bathroom. We asked to change rooms and this was begrudgingly done. The new room was much larger and nicer but the continual noise from the water tank located in the cupboard in the bathroom was annoying and meant I had to wear earplugs to get some sleep - hardly relaxing. Every time anyone in the building used water or pulled a flush it made a racket in our room. Little touches often make a difference, so the bar of 29p soap (price still on it!) in the otherwise nice bathroom was a bit scrimpy but hardly the end of the world. One of things that attracted me to the Old Chapel Inn was the restaurant (saw it on their website) but we weren't told it was closed due to heating problems and we were just shown to a little table in the bar. The table was quite cosy but nothing like the restaurant, especially given the restaurant food prices rather than pub food prices! Also, neither of us smoke (and I am pregnant and avoiding smoky places) but had to contend with people in the bar smoking all around us. I accept it is a bar and people can smoke there but if we'd been told on arrival, we probably would've chosen to have dinner elsewhere. Can't fault the food it was delicious and the service was fine but it was spoilt due to us sitting in the smoky bar. Neither of us slept very well due to the noisy tank/pipes. The whole place had a air of being finished off quickly and on the cheap (one door still had the word 'lock' written on it in pencil but the carpenter obviously never came back!) The hot water was so hot it scalded my husband when he put his hand under the tap when running a bath - very dangerous if you had children around. We thought The Old Chapel Inn could be lovely, the menu is great and the rooms could be fantastic but the whole thing was a big disappointment to us. I'd say - go there for a meal (check the restaurant is open when you book) but don't stay.

Stayed March 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2006

We stayed at the Old Chapel Inn a few weeks back and had a fantastic meal in the candlelit bar on the Saturday evening. The barman (not sure of his name) was delightful, so friendly and really made our evening. My husband was on a strict diet and requested no added fat with his meal - and the choice of chicken with parsnip puree and lots of freshly cooked vegetables was just perfect. I had a starter (goats cheese tartlet) and a gorgeous sponge pudding (ginger and toffee I think) dessert. It was one of those meals that you think about and relive afterwards. Just brilliant!

The hotel was imaginatively decorated with lots of atmosphere - the only downside was that it needed decoration in places as there was some damp on the walls, also it seemed strange to have mismatched hangers in the wardrobe when there was such attention to detail with the overall interior design. However, the meal made up for it!

It's great fun to go across to Burgh island on the tractor at high tide - it only costs a small amount and it's a lovely walk to the top of the hill where you can see for miles.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2006

We stayed at the Old Chapel Inn for our one-year anniversary and were just blown away. We found it on Late Rooms, with the 'Valentine' four poster bedroom for only £70. So to be honest for such a cheap price we were not expecteding much. But we turned up early, expecting to not be able to get into the hotel, but Paul and Britt let us in kindly, and showed us to our room. Wow! Four poster bed, jacuzzi bath, massive windows and bathroom, and all very luxurious looking. App the room is £120 a night in the high season, but being Febuary we had hit a bargain! Supper was delicious (thick warming soup, steak, roasted veg), and being the only ones staying there we were waited on hand and foot in the gorgeous candlelit bar area. Theres also a pretty conservatory dining room for the summer months and when the hotel is busier. The hotel is really easy to find, right on a little Devon country road, and within 10 minutes drive of lovely Bigbury-on-Sea. Walk across the sand at low tide and have a drink in the 13th century Pilchard Inn on Burgh Island - not to be missed, but watch the tide! All in all a wonderful romantic experience, enhanced by everything the hotel provided for us.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2005

In mid-July this year, we had a wonderful three-night stay at the Old Chapel Inn, in the hamlet of St Ann’s Chapel, near Bigbury, in the beautiful South Hams area of Devon.

The building, constructed around a 13th-century chapel and 16th-century inn, had recently been completely refurbished by the current owners, using professional interior designers. All the bedrooms are stylish, and the shiny modern facilities of our tiled ensuite shower room blended well with the ‘medieval’ chic of the furniture, fabrics and chapel-themed art.

Breakfasts were well cooked and unhurried. My spouse particularly enjoyed the gorgeous creamy scrambled eggs with herbs, while I appreciated the chance to eat fresh fruit as well as the traditional sausages and bacon.

We chose to dine in the restaurant in the evenings because the food was so delicious and the menu choice so varied and imaginative. The Refectory restaurant itself is airy and spacious, with a natural décor that helps to create a relaxing atmosphere. It is popular too with non-residents, who can sit outside in the garden or by the fireside in the bar before their meal.

Our hosts, Paul and Britt, gave us a warm and friendly welcome throughout our stay, offering advice about places to visit, including hidden coves, and pubs and restaurants nearby. They even showed us the ancient holy well hidden deep below the building. On hand whenever we needed them, and happy to chat when we wanted to, they made us feel very much at home.

The Old Chapel Inn is ideally situated for exploring the loveliest parts of the South Hams, through traditional deep Devon lanes with hedgerows which grow so high that in places they join to form a canopy overhead, creating a green tunnel as we drove through. There are magical places all around, including the tidal road alongside the river Avon, and the broad sweep of Bigbury Bay, with Burgh island reached across the sands by causeway or sea tractor. On a sunny day it is idyllic. The level of comfort inside the inn would, we imagine, make a stay there enjoyable in all seasons.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Chapel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Chapel Inn

Address: St. Ann's Chapel TQ7 4HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > St. Ann's Chapel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in St. Ann's Chapel
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Old Chapel Inn St. Ann's Chapel, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Chapel Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.