We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashdale Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matlock Bath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ashdale Guest House
Save
You added Ashdale Guest House to your Saves list
92 North Parade, Matlock Bath DE4 3NS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Matlock Bath B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A lovely stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed for two nights on May bank holiday weekend. We had a great weekend and were made to feel very welcome at the Ashdale. The breakfasts were very tasty (and comprehensive) and the rooms were quiet. Ashdale also has a brilliant location -- right in the middle of the strip (and it has parking). The village itself is beautiful and there's a lot to do -- we couldn't fit it all in!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    9
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
46
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Centrally located in Matlock Bath and only 10min walk from train station and we had a lovely stay, looked after by Lindy and Barry. Our son and family had the large room at the front - nice and spacious and we had another very nice bedroom at the back - all ensuite.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
historyman
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed here for a few days in April 2013. Can not rate Ashdale highly enough. Rooms spotless, breakfast brilliant. As hosts Barry and Lindy can not be faulted. You will not be dissapointed with your stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stopped here last weekend , our 4th visit and as ever, really enjoyed our stay.
The rooms are big and spotlessly clean , the breakfast gorgeous and Barry and Lindy are the perfect hosts.
Can't wait for our next stay, highly recommended !

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My 9-year-old son and I stayed here for a few days in half-term. We had a really big family room at the front of the house with a great view across the river to the park. There were board games to play, a TV with DVD player, plus a tasty cooked breakfast every morning. Barry and Linda were very warm and welcoming and we really couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. Ashdale is very conveniently situated for the train station, bus stops, eateries and attractions such as the Aquarium, Mining Museum and Heights of Abraham. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrewsmatlockbath, Owner at Ashdale Guest House, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Just an overnight stay, midweek. Very clean, tidy.... and wonderfull hosts! Impressive breakfast choice, prepared just as I asked. I was made to feel at home from the moment of arrival, (which was without booking and totally spontaneous) until I left. The £35 cost was exceptional value for money. Plenty of coffee/tea provided in room. No skimping here! I would recommend to anyone and will definately stay here again. If I had to have one criticism.... when staying in ground floor room, noise can be heard from upstairs as people move about, just a little thing and certainly not enough to ruin my stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrewsmatlockbath, Owner at Ashdale Guest House, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. I hope we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed here for one night as I was working late in the area. Barry and Lindy went out of their way to be helpful even though I wasn't turning up until quite late in the evening. It is brilliant base for people touring the area.

The breakfast was superb and would put many much more expensive hotels to shame. The Ashdale offers brilliant value and as shown by the other reviews on this site, is highly recommended.

A very friendly and welcoming place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashdale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashdale Guest House

Address: 92 North Parade, Matlock Bath DE4 3NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock Bath
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashdale Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.