We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashdale Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matlock Bath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ashdale Guest House
92 North Parade, Matlock Bath DE4 3NS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Matlock Bath B&B and Inns
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Value B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Stayed here for two nights with my other half as we decided we wanted a few days away from it all! The B&B is owned by a lovely friendly couple; the breakfast is great, we opted for the full English option which consisted of quality ingredients including the best black pudding we'd ever tasted! Lovely meal and wasn't at all greasy. The owners are good at offering a friendly, laid back atmosphere whilst leaving you to your own devices. The room was clean and tidy - on the small side, but perfectly adequate for a few nights stay and definitely worth the price paid (65 per night). The location is perfect for visiting Matlock Bath - within walking distance of some great pubs, a great mining museum (definitely recommended!) as well as the Cable Cars for the Heights of Abraham. The photo's on the website don't really do the place justice, it's a nice clean B&B with all you could want for the price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    8
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
42
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Very relaxed, friendly, clean,and tidy, spacious ensuite rooms, parking, great breakfast, and well placed near the centre of Matlock Bath. Would highly recommend as a great place to see Matlock Bath, and to visit many of the other sites around.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

In need of a break, we headed to Ashdale House and were really pleased with it's location (and a good parking spot right in front), we received a very warm welcome and the room was stunning and very clean. It's a beautiful old house and the finishing touches in our room were very much appreciated. Breakfast was delicious and as I said, the hosts were charming, laid back and very helpful. Excellent.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop Derbyshire uk
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Warm welcome on arrival, lovely clean room,we stayed in the large family room , lovely big fluffy towels! which is a bonus these days Had a pleasant stay for only one night. Situated in the heart of Matlock Bath.
Breakfast was lovely which you can choose in your room by ticking off a list that had everything you could possibly want.
Owners helpful and welcoming could not find any fault, many thanks to Barry and Lindy for a lovely short stay.
I would recommend this to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

This was a lovely b&b and the owners were extremely friendly, helpful and welcoming. I would recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colchester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

I found the reviews on here inspiring. It was everything I expected. Warm, friendly hosts, clean room( we had the 3 bed room at the front) and wonderful cooked breakfast. We stayed for 2nights in August ( me and 2 teenage boys ), travelling by train. It is only a 5min walk from the station. Our first experience of a B&B. We were greeted very warmly. shown to our room and given a menu to tick the items we would like for our cooked breakfast the following morning, there are also cereals, friut, and yogurts to have.I mentioned that one of my sons would prefer a different type of cereal. It was not a problem, we were told and it was there for him next morning. The breakfast was lovely, with plenty of tea and coffee. Also fresh juice. Our room was very large with a shower,toilet and hand basin, tea & coffee making facilities which were replenished well and plenty of biscuits. It was a delightful stay and would most certainly go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

You know it is a good omen when on arrival the smell of freshly baked bread wafts through the front door and the owner comes out to help you park your car. Thus it was, our room on the front of the premises was bright and airy with ample seating and plenty of tea and coffee, would have liked two packets of biscuits so we had one each intead of sharing. The bed proved comfy and the bathroom took us down memory lane ( a blue suite) Breakfast is pre-ordered and most of the produce is locally sourced, the home baked bread used in the toast and cholesterol laden fried bread is superb. The hosts really do go that extra mile to make your stay contented and happy, their local knowledge and general enthusiasm is refreshing. This establishment goes into my "must return" file.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ashdale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashdale Guest House

Address: 92 North Parade, Matlock Bath DE4 3NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock Bath
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashdale Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ashdale Guest House to your Saves list