We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cables B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cables B&B to your Saves list
Cables B&B
182 Dale Road, Matlock Bath DE4 3PS , England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Matlock Bath B&B and Inns
Barcelona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Amaing from beggining to end. Owners couldn't do enough for you. Room splendid. We had the four poster. Decorated lovely with amazing finishing touches. Clean and fresh. Amazing choice for breakfast cooked just how you like. Parking off road. Not far to attractions. Will definately go again and tell all my friends too.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    23
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
234
10
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lytham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

Wish we could have stayed longer than 1 night. Nothing has been overlooked in this compact place. Everything you could want is here including tea and fab cake on arrival. The breakfast was outstanding for choice and quality. Roger the host makes everyone more than welcome. We loved the 'welcome board ' outside! Would definitely stay here again. Great location

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

Stayed the Cables 9th April for 2 nights and wow , this place can not be beaten for value and service , Roger and Maureen run this B&B like a top class hotel , We had Dinner as well and was just great , after touring all day to Haddon Hall and the other real nice old houses that way , we did not wish to walk any more, Hey dont tell Roger but 6 pounds for a bottle of wine wine is very cheap and was very drinkable so we had many bottles , On Saturday night we were invited to join Roger out side in there garden with a open log fire , i have never felt so welcome in a B&B , we travel all over the world just wish we could find more places like this and Roger and Maureen do the Hotel trade proud , Im sure Roger reads comments from his guests so here goes , BUILD them 2 rooms ;) and thanks again see you later in the year

Room Tip: Eat at B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

This was our 1st stay at the cables bnb n most definatly will not be the last after our pleasant stay. From a lovely warm welcome to a crackin fry up in the morning we enjoyed every moment of it.So just want 2 say thank you to roger and maureen for our stay and hopefully see u very soon,kim and ady x

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

I first stayed at the cables in September 2009 and stumbled upon it almost by accident! I was on a solo leisure trip as my wife was abroad with her children. Roger and Maureen made me welcome from the instant I knocked on the door, and I was so impressed with the comfort and warm, friendly accomodation, that my wife and I returned in early 2010 and although our stay was only for two nights, we would have happily remained there all week if we hadn't needed to move on to another part of the country.

We hope to come and stay again soon.

Keep up the good work Roger and Maureen, you are wonderful!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

I don't know when I have felt more welcome on arrival, from the dear little blackboard outside, to the cosy fireplace and lovely drink. Dinner was truly homemade and delicious. Our bedroom was charming and the sleep was deep and untroubled. Roger and Maureen have got a truly brilliant formula here and we are just trying to find another excuse to visit once again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

We have stayed in many B & B's and I have to say this is the best one we've stayed in! Roger was the perfect host, anything we needed, it was there!! From where to go to to what to eat! We stayed on valentines, the room was perfectly accommated with hearts and candles.

The room it self was absolutley perfect, immaculately clean. Every detail thought of. i would recommend The Cables to any one who wishes to go to Matlock. Claire & Olly....

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cables B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cables B&B

Address: 182 Dale Road, Matlock Bath DE4 3PS , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are perfectly located between Matlock and Matlock Bath with a 10 min walk to both. We offer a friendly service and pride ourselves on offering lots of little extras. Relax by the log fire in the guest lounge and watch sky TV or your favourite DVD. Or chill on the patio in the hot tub with a glass of wine and have your pizzas cooked in our out door oven. We focus on special occasions with lots of surprises to make your time memorable offering home cooked evening meals we are licensed with room mini bars and source all our food locally, with homemade bread, yogurt, preserves, compote ice-cream and lots more. With lovely scenic views, you can't fail to have a relaxing time at the Cables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cables B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cables Hotel Matlock Bath
Cables Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cables B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.