We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Portland House c1870 5* Luxury Party Houses

Sumptuous sitting room at 5* Portland House c1870
Sumptuous sitting room at 5* Portland House c1870
Sumptuous sitting room at 5* Portland House c1870
Don't hang around - better book now at 5* Portland House c1870!
Treat yourselves to our afternoon tea party at 5* Portland House c1870
12 beautiful bedrooms with 12 bath/cloakrooms at 5* Portland Houes c1870
Longest sofa in the Peak District at spacious 5* Portland House c1870!
Matlock Bath
|
Rental Home – 
12 Bedrooms, 11 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
roy k
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“what a fantastic place for a family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

excelent accomodation. lovely rooms with plenty of space and magnificent period features. the owners were a pleasure to deal with and the caterer they recommended was superb. i would recommend anyone to stay there.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: large enough for all 23 of us to stay in the same place for a very reasonable price
Liked least: accomodation was superb ,but local town is popular with motorcyclists and the noise from main road was very loud at times when trying to relax in garden especially on the Sunday when the weather was glorious. although this was only a minor irratation
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
purple_ca...
leeds
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant Hen Weekend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

22 of us stayed at Portland House for a weekend over May Bank Holiday weekend and had a fantastic time! The house is perfectly equipped for large groups and everyone was really impressed with the grandeur of the house. Juliet has obviously put a lot of thought into everything and was more than helpful in the lead upto and during our stay with suggestions and ideas of things we could do to make it a really excellent weekend. The private bar was especially popular in which we hired a cocktail barman from The Bespoke Bartender, alot of fun!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
JudeQ
Surrey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

A large group of us recently descended on Portland House for our friend Marie's hen do, and we couldn't have asked for more! All the bedrooms were excellently presented, the living room was spacious with a fantastic Chesterfield sofa, and the dining room and kitchen were great places to eat and drink together. The room that sealed it for us was the bar - we put our own music on, drank cocktails and played games until the early hours! During the day, it is only a very short walk to the shops and bars, and there is a lovely outside area at the front of the house if you're lucky with the sunshine! We had a great time sending Marie off into married life, and would definitely stay again! Thanks Juliet for a great stay.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: We had to leave!
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Karina F
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful house to share our son's 18th with family and friends.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We found that "Portland House" was the perfect place for us to celebrate our son's 18th birthday. Our youngest guest was 5yrs, the oldest was 77yrs with everything in between. Because the house is so well thought out, the party continued with pockets of guests dotted throughout. The noisier ones in the bar, busy ones in the kitchen, fun and games in the dining room and the chatty ones in the lounge!!! The house proved to be very versatile, we catered for ourselves throughout the whole weekend,(every utensil, plate, serving dish etc. etc. was provided) the dining room was perfect for all our meals and easily turned into a wonderful space for us to play musical statues and some other fun party games. The beds were so comfortable, everyone slept well. We all loved our stay.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Living in this beautiful house for the week end.
Liked least: Closing the door behind us as we left.
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
LouiseJ12...
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Gorgeous, luxury 5* party house!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

I booked Portland House for my sisters Hen weekend. We all had such a great time staying in this luxury house, and is perfect for a Hen do with a bit of class! The owner of portland house, Juliet, is such a lovely lady, and so nice to deal with, always bubbly and willing to help, but also very professional. She suggested a long list of things we could do for the weekend. We went to the fishpond pub, which is a short walk away from the house, hassop station cafe nr Bakewell, and Chatsworth house. We also had spa treatments back at the house by my personal sanctuary who were fantastic!! The surrounding area is jaw-dropingly beautiful, and it was snowy over the weekend which made it even prettier. Anyway... back to the house. Portland house is exactly what is says on the tin, a 5* party house. The house is very spacious, everyone can fit in the communal areas comfortably. All but two of the bedrooms have an en suite, which is such a bonus for self catering accommodation. The decor of the house is gorgeous, the kitchen in so well equipped, you really don't need to bring anything, the bar is great touch. I defiantly want to book portland house in the future, we are already talking about booking for christmas one year...

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: overall feel of the place, decor, that it really is luxury, well equipped kitchen... I could go on...! Everything
Liked least: the heating turning off at 2 am and not being able to get it back on again! and that I couldn't bring my dogs. No fireplaces downstairs
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Dinahpig
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful relaxing time in splendid surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Portland House was a fabulous setting for the annual gathering of our friends from various corners of the country. The house was beautiful & spacious & the well-equipped kitchen meant that we were easily able to cater for the 20+ adults/children in our party. A wonderful time was had by all :)

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
dawn h
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The very best venue for a group stay of friends, family or colleagues”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

I have now stayed at Portland House 3 times for team events from work. The accomodation is luxurious with plenty of space to escape to when needed! The bar is a great touch and was well used during our stay. The kitchen is extremely well equipt and at no time did we reach for something that wasn't available. I'd love to be able to take a party of family and friends - it really is a dream house for spending time with a large group.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Its a very big house to keep warm when its -6 degrees outside, I needed to wear a jumper!
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$1,237
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Juliet H
44 01629 734414
Speaks English
Listed since : Aug 2012
Response Rate: 95 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 17 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing