We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High Tor Hotel

Save Saved
You added High Tor Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
High Tor Hotel
170 Dale Road, Matlock Bath DE4 3PS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Matlock Bath B&B and Inns
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Me and my boyfriend are both signed up to the deal emails wowcher, one day we were just looking over the deals and found the honeymoon suit at the High Tor Hotel for around £80 with free bottle of win, chocolates and breakfast for one night. We immediately booked! We had never been to Matlock or even heard of it.
When arriving in Matlock we were pleasantly surprised by how beautiful it was and quiet. The hotel was easy to find and wasn't too far from the centre of town. The sights from the hotel itself was gorgeous and there was enough parking for what the hotel needed. The staff were delightful and when we arrived they hurried to get the room ready.
When walking in the room I nearly lost my breath! There were stairs making the room feel really private which was perfect for a romantic get away! The room theme was purple (my favourite colour.)
Lets start with the bathroom, the toilet is in its own room however the bath and sink are just open planned with the room which we didn't mind at all. The bath is amazing! It would easily fit about 3 people in, its huge! My boyfriend is 6"4 and never fits easily into a normal bath tub because he is so long so his feet generally stick out. However, this bath was perfect for him! Takes a while to fill due to it being so big but i'd get this room again just for the bath!
The bed is a rounded bed and is so comfortable and in direct view of the TV. There is home made cookies on the tea tray. And to top off the whole trip breakfast is brought to your room! Theres a menu in the room which you just chose and ring up. My boyfriend was delighted as they called him sir.
The room normally i think is £180+ but for special occasions it is definitely worth it. The hotel is gorgeous and very romantic. I cannot fault anything at all! The staff are very friendly (I just have to repeat this!)
After check out we went into Matlock for a look around unfortunately it was raining but it'd be lovely in better weather. There's a lovely park that had lights around it to walk around in.
Worth ever penny!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    47
    15
    19
    5
See reviews for
18
99
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Negatives first
No glasses in the room or bathroom, apparently you have to request them from reception?? no opening window so impossible to air room which was very stuffy. Poor food choice and service, bar seems to be trying too hard, £150 for a bottle of passable burgandy but only two generic choices of malt whisky??

Positives
Excellant location, easy access to peak district national park. Clean room and very freindly service and reasonably good value booked through late rooms.

Room

Small but reasonably appointed, very clean and a very comfortable bed (if you like a firm matress as i do)

My biggest bug bear was the lack of an opening window, very stuffy in the room, there was air con but was very loud so impractical. How can you air a room between guests if the window doesnt open?

No glasses in room or bathroom??? never come across this before, as directed by the welcome pack had to call reception to get some??

resturant/bar

Didnt get to sample food here. For an undisclosed reason the bar menu was not available, despite being advertised as available at this time. This left us with the *ahem* Al la Carte menu which at £25 quid for a set 3 course meal didnt seem Al a Cart, indeed I was fornidden by my partner from pointing out this was actually Table d'hote :P Anyhoo before we could order we were told that the lamb was off which left us with one dish or a vegetarian option so unfourtunately we ate out. Lost confidence prevented us from having breakfast so cant really comment on food.

Overall

New hotel, still trying to find its feet? clean, comfortable and idealy placed for exploring the White peaks

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Went on a groupon voucher with family. The service was a little slow but the food was excellent and the staff really friendly. The home roast beef sandwiches were superb as were the home made scones. Even on the full price this would have been excellent value and we will go back to sample the main meals which looked fantastic

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This Hotel is well-known to me as I stayed as a guest during a large part of 1978/79 while in the process of relocating from London to the immediate area. I had seen the decline during the 80's and the literal rise from the ashes - following a fire - to it's present condition. I therefore agreed immediately to my wife's suggestion that we should visit for Dinner further to her receiving a pleasant reference from a local business colleague. We booked for 8.00pm on Saturday 12th January and were joined by our youngest late-teenage son.

The new drive-in entrance from the A6 is fine, and car parking, although limited, is reasonable. The entrance door to the hotel has been tastefully refurbished and at this point I am looking forward to going in. First sight is the staircase leading to the accommodation on the 1st floor - as in my previous visit although I do pass by what was the old "dining room" to the right, and I mentally noted that I hope that is not the restaurant.

Immediately underneath the staircase is a small Reception Desk and as other reviewers have noted - unattended - so a brief wait until we were greeted with "Have you Booked?". With our booking confirmed, we were taken the short way to a settee and our pre-dinner drinks order was taken. This was a bit like sitting in a railway waiting room and despite an excellent print of the hotel to view, was no-man's land and neither in the bar or the restaurant area. It was also vey cold as it faced directly back to the front entrance door. Menus were presented, with the immediate notice that "lamb was finished" leaving beef, chicken, salmon, and lemon sole as the remaining options. Turned out not to be a problem as we all selected beef along with starters.

I waited some five or more minutes and then asked a passing waitress for the Wine List only to be told "It's on the Bar" so I had to walk into the bar to find and retrieve the list. After deliberation, and catching another passing waitress, I selected a bottle of No 25 - Bordeaux Red and a large glass of No 4 Pinot Grigio for my son. Things are starting to go wrong!!!

Horror upon horror we are now asked to go to our table, and instead of being taken into what I had believed to be the main restaurant we are taken into what I earlier referred to as the "old dining room" . Again from reference to other reviews, I gather in hindsight that the area I will refer to as "Williams Bar" , as it was constructed in the earlier time, is restricted to Hotel Guests or Walk-In Drinkers. This room is reasonably bright and cheerful not like the dark and uninviting room I am now asked to sit in. I am sat alongside my son facing a blank wall just inside the door. I am also now under strict orders from my wife to "not cause a fuss" as she has detected that I am unhappy, and likewise, from my side, I can see that she herself is becoming dissappointed,

Starters arrive, and are eaten with little comment.Observations only at this point; Why is the table laid with side plates when no bread is offered and good to have two salts and no pepper. Wine hasn't arrived until waitress appears with the glass of wine and the comment that No 25 is not available. Now the big decision - No 25 was priced at £25 per bottle and the next possibility for me was a bottle of Fleurie at £38 - which did appear to be expensive - I certainly would not have paid the asking price of £150 for the Geverty Chambertin. Tensions at the table rise as I say that I would be happy to forego on the wine but my wife insists and the Fleurie is delivered - and consumed. Steak Knives are produced - somebody please tell the waitress that at this point she should remove the other knives from the table.

Main courses arrive and is basically Steak - not particularly tender - & Chips with a single mushroom and tomato and something like the bottom half of an onion ring. Please see other reviewers comments about the triple-cooked chips so that any readers don't think It is just me having a bad day.

We never take Sweet so it was left to our son only to enjoy the smallest portion of Sticky Toffee pudding and the tiniest scoop of ice-cream I have ever seen.

Disaster, and I have now exited to the Car Park for a cigarette leaving my wife to settle the bill of £123!!!! Pity we didn't have any of those vouchers that the majority of other reviewers had.

Overall summary - excellent to see this building reborn again - nobody seems to reference that originally this was the home of Admiral Collingwood who served with Nelson - but it appears to be a two-star pretending to be a four-star. I felt that I had paid for First class but was placed in Economy. Would my wife return - No!

Room Tip: In the 1978 period the Hotel was reknowned for the fact that each room had a geniune style of bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We have just come back from our weekend I'm matlock. We booked Saturday 12th of January for a weekend away. So we decided to book the high tor hotel. When we arrived the staff were very welcoming. We had room 12 and it was spotless, and very cosy. I would defiantly recomend this hotel. The price for the room was fantastic and we will definitely be going back soon. The location is great, as you are between matlock and matlock bath.
We went out and had a lovely evening in a pub in matlock bath, there was a live singer, the pub was called the boat house.
After a nice evening we had one last drink in the hotel bar. We could not have asked for better service.
The beds are so comfortable. The shower is so warm.
We had a full English breakfast, cereals coffee, toast and with a choice of marmalade and jam. The sausages were really tasty and filling. I have to say best breakfast I have ever had in a hotel. The staff really make you feel welcome and at home.
Anyone wanting to go to matlock, I would defiantly recomend the place, and recomend the hotel. Best hotel ever. Well done to everyone there. We hope to see you soon. Debbie Clarke, and Dean Balzaretti. Xxx

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We booked for one night on the strength of a recommendation from a friend. We arrived quite late and there was nobody at reception which other people seem to have complained about but as this is just a small boutique hotel with a semi-open plan hallway it wasn't too difficult to stick our heads around the door to the bar to find a really friendly, polite and helpful lady who booked us in and showed us to our room.

The hotel has clearly been recently renovated and has a nice clean modern look to it without being too flashy or detracting from the country hotel feel too much. I couldn't help feeling that the breakfast area would have made a nice cosy lounge / function room but aside from that there are comfy sofas aplenty in the communal areas and the restaurant has a nice warm and welcoming feel.

We'd booked the biggest room which is on the top floor and is a pleasant attic room with a ridiculously comfy oval bed, a massive TV, lush carpet and with a slate-tiled wet area with sink and an enormous bath - perfect for a romantic getaway. This room is has velux windows which means you can't enjoy the spectacular cliff views but it is the bridal suite so I suppose window-gazing isn't top of most guests' agenda!

We ate in the restaurant and the food was superb. We had the salmon which was nice and the lamb shank which was huge and perfectly cooked, as were the veggies. The quality and quantity of the food was excellent and great value, and we would definitely eat here again if we were passing and not stopping. All the staff were excellent, attentive and really friendly and even sorted the lamb bones for us to take for the dogs that we cheekily asked for.

We didn't stay long in the bar but the room service was also faultless and, unlike in many hotels, not the rip-off you expect and we got a cracking breakfast bang on time the next morning to send us on our way happy and content. We'll definitely come back, even if it is only to eat as we are passing, but if we are stopping in the area again it will be here.

Room Tip: For a special occasion / romantic getaway ask about the Honeymoon Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, UK
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Went on a voucher for afternoon tea. Nobody on reception. First impression was disappointment at cheap looking sofas, stools, tables, chairs and chair cushions for such a lovely building. Also it is a minor point but the Christmas decorations were quite tacky, again would have expected something more fitting to the building but that's just a personal taste thing.

Service was polite but really slow and not attentive in any way. Wine glass had lipstick mark and a cup wasn't totally clean but overall the place was clean and tidy. Bathroom was nice.

When the food came (on rickety cake stands) we were really pleased, it was tasty, well presented and there was a decent amount.

Overall we would give it another chance because the food was pleasant and we like to support local independent businesses.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to High Tor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Tor Hotel

Address: 170 Dale Road, Matlock Bath DE4 3PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel located between Matlock and Matlock Bath - Under new Management since January 2014 - New restaurant French cuisine " Marcel's Restaurant " ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your High Tor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Tor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.