We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a very pleasent suprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High Tor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added High Tor Hotel to your Saves list
High Tor Hotel
170 Dale Road, Matlock Bath DE4 3PS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Matlock Bath B&B and Inns
Rotherham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a very pleasent suprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

On arrival I was met by a very warm and friendly welcome. I had the opportunity to meet the new director in the bar area - Sofia! Who was very forthcoming and friendly in her approach to all the guests staying at the hotel. It was my birthday, and the hotel amazed me by offering a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine on arrival! Both me and my partner had reserved the luxury room which was well worth paying a little extra for the upgrade. I have read earlier reviews on the tea and coffee facilities - this must have been implemented since the earlier reviews!! We did dine in for the evening meal and it was amazing, a bit pricey - but well worth it!! And spent the remainder of the evening in the bar - and enjoyed every minute...

I have been to many a hotel, and this is one that I would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Upgrade, it is well worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    59
    15
    21
    6
See reviews for
20
111
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed on the 28 September for 2 nights in Room No 4, at £120 per night, room very small.

No noise from road, however, the noise from downstairs in the bar and the telephone in reception can keep you awake. Also there does not seem to be any sound proofing in the rooms. This results in being able to hear other peoples conversations from the other bedrooms whilst in your room.

As we stayed there two nights - the cleaning of the bedrooms was not great, the hotel bedroom bin was not emptied. They offer free tea/coffee or bottled water free, which they bring up as part of room service, however, the glasses nor bottles were taking away nor washed up. They just remained in our room for the whole duration of our stay.

We only had breakfast which was included in the price of the room, however this was not great either. Food very disappointing. We did not have an evening meal within the hotel, however the menu seemed very expensive, and whilst we were there we only saw one couple eating in the restaurant.

I think if this hotel wants to remain in business, they need to reduce the price of the room, improve on the service, have special offers like dinner bed and breakfast and have a website.

To be honest we have had better service within a Premier inn then at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighTorr, Manager at High Tor Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear guest
We are very disappointed to hear that your stay at the hotel did not live up to expectations. We value all customer feedback and your comments will be fed back to the relevant staff members.

At the high tor hotel, we endeavour to offer an amazing customer experience and although newly established this is our main focus as a family owned business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My husband and I visited this hotel this afternoon after buying a voucher on groupon. Must admit the hotel is very impressive as you drive up to it it looks smart and clean and inviting. Upon entering the hotel the standards are just as good it has clearly been recently refurbished and looks very impressive inside also. We were met by friendly staff who guided us to our table and within ten minutes were served with a beautiful afternoon tea which represented excellent value. Well done High Tor we shall definitely be going here again possibly for Sunday lunch as that looked very good too!:)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I am always surprised at the huge discrepancy in the best and worst reviews for a place. I can only assume that there are those for whom NOTHING will ever be right, and they are just born moaners! My partner and I stayed on the 8th September. High Tor is a Grade 2 Listed building and is very attractive. It has been sympathetically restored, with the rooms we saw being of a very high standard. Lucy, the manager, and her staff were friendly and very helpful - we asked for a pot of tea at roughly 7.30am Sunday morning and within 5 minutes it was brought to our room. The evening meal was delicious - my partner had the lamb and I had the chicken - with a lovely mushroom and tarragon soup starter.
Nothing was too much trouble, and we had a lovely stay in a lovely Hotel, not hindered by being conveniently located about half way between Matlock and Matlock Bath in easy walking distance.
Minor gripes, mentioned before, are the lack of tea/coffee facilities in the room and, well, that's it really! Thank you to Lucy and her staff for a lovely weekend!

Room Tip: The 'bridal' suite is superb!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I travel to Matlock regularly and have resided in many of the hotels on offer, I decided to give High Tor a go, and I was pleasently surprised! I stayed in a nice room, with a decent sized bed, which, might I add, gave me a fantastic nights sleep before a big meeting that i was dreading!
I had a proper breakfast with homemade bread! not many places offer that anymore! And everyone i came across approached me with a smile.
Thanks to all the staff, I will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Just tell the staff your requirements and they will cater accordingly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for one night over the recent bank holiday, with my 3 and 4 year old children and a cousin. We booked the family room and found ourselves in a gorgeously decorated clean bright room big enough for the children to run around in. The staff were superb, nothing was too much trouble them. I was worried about noise from the road below the hotel, with it being a very busy bank holiday.However we couldnt hear a thing and the children slept very well. The food was absolutely superb, the service first class,and the staff very helpful especially catering for the children.Overall a brilliant experience for us all. I would thoroughly recommend it, and will book again for christmas.Well done everyone and keep up the great work.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Booked a 1 night stay in a luxury room with either jet shower or luxury bath.Must have missed the small print.
We got an attic room with normal shower no headroom because of the sloping roof and a small bed.With traffic noise from the busy road below the front of the hotel.
Hotel had lift but only up to the first floor, rooms on the top floor accessed by what i found to be a steep staircase with no hand rail that was difficult to descend around the corner.
hotel full so could not be moved
staff good food good .
access to property up sloping road both entrance and exit very poor.
no designated footpath, no hand rails , very steep entrance road found it risky to walk up and down going to town.Perimeter wall that stopped you falling down to main road below did not seem to be finished to me, and a steep drop down a flight of overgrown concrete steps next to the entrance slope was not signed gated or fenced off, children beware.
Location great and staff great.

Room Tip: make sure you get a room on the first floor as the one we had on the second floor was small noisy an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to High Tor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Tor Hotel

Address: 170 Dale Road, Matlock Bath DE4 3PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel located between Matlock and Matlock Bath - Under new Management since January 2014 - New restaurant French cuisine " Marcel's Restaurant " ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your High Tor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Tor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.