We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome change from standardised branded hotels” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hodgkinson's Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hodgkinson's Hotel to your Saves list
Hodgkinson's Hotel
150 South Parade, Matlock Bath, Matlock DE4 3NR , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Matlock Bath
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bedfordshire
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A welcome change from standardised branded hotels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

Arrived on a Sunday when Matlock Bath is very busy with day trippers including many bikers (enthusiasts, not the Hells Angels variety). On entering the hotel,experienced tranquility as we stepped back in time with the decor of a bygone age. We were shown to our bedroom on the second floor and which overlooked the River Derwent on the other side of the road. Our chosen package was dinner, bed and breakfast. The food was excellent with a reasonable selection of courses to choose from. As we had our dog with us, we were given a key for the hotel front door so that if we needed to walk the dog after 11 pm or early in the morning, we could let ourselves out and back in. Not everyone might like the decor, the lack of a lift, being virtually adjacent to the main road (A6) and the car park being about 70 yards up a steep hill. However we were very pleased at having selected this hotel. So many modern hotels have that sameness about them no matter where they are and Hodgkinson's was indeed a very welcome change. We would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    20
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
31
112
8
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

We had been warned that Matlock Bath was no longer the thermal spa town it had once been, but wasn't quite expecting how much the local planners had allowed it to be turned into a fish and chip mecca and go downmarket.

Much better on weekdays, but at the weekend it is descended upon by day trippersand every second outlet is a fast food outlet. The place smells of the stench of fish and chips which is fine at the seaside but a bit unexpected in a small village/spa town. The quality shops have been forced out and most of the retail is pretty tatty, which is a shame given its wonderful location. Suspect it could be very lively on a Saturday night.

This is sad, as the hotels and B&Bs in Matlock Bath are trying to maintain standards and elegance of past times and must feel it is an uphill battle given the rest of the town.

So, if you want to visit, weekdays are better as it is much quieter and less in your face.

The hotel is lovely, beautiful rooms, quirky, old worlde, beds very comfortable, but the front rooms can be noisy - in summer you would find it hard to sleep with windows open if it were hot. The hotel doesn't try to disguise this. It is right on the main road so if that bothers you don't complain after booking and going there. All of the b&bs are on the main drag so they will all suffer from this to some extent.

We had a warm welcome, and anything we needed or wanted was catered for. It was a very relaxed couple of days away and very enjoyable. The food was good. Breakfasts were well cooked and good choice, dinner was fine, even though we picked a night when chef was off which was a pity, as I am sure it is usually even better. The staff need a bit more training, putting out soup spoons for dessert, not knowing that chorizo is sausage, slightly disorganised and service a bit slow but these tiny things are easily remedied. It is a very friendly hotel and you are made to feel very much at home.

The bedrooms are very comfortable, lovely furniture, fabrics, accessories, they are lovely, very very pretty. The shower in one of the two we had was a tight fit, and felt a bit claustrophobic, it was a bit shoehorned in, but the restrictions of an old building make it difficult at times. The second room the shower was better size. Good quality toiletries were supplied and the rooms were spacious and charming.

If you want minimalist, then don't come here as it is high blown Victoriana and stuffed full of objects but we loved the decor and charm.

As people have said, parking is limited and up a very steep slope but there is on street parking nearby so it isn't the end of the world. We had no bother parking in the allocated spots, but the hotel wasn't busy on our visit, so high season it may be more difficult.

We had a very pleasant visit and would love to return to the hotel, and are just a bit sad that Matlock Bath, as a town, lets the hotel down!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

If you are looking for somewhere to stay to access the delights of Matlock Bath and area plump for Hodgkinson's.
Internally it is immaculate with a style all of its own. You get a warm welcome from everyone and you are treated as an individual.
Evening meals are not the cheapest but the quality is first class. Breakfasts set you up for the day.
We arrived mid-afternoon and found a space in the hotel's own small car park and then walked or used public transport during our short stay. Other car parks are not quite as convenient, but still not a reason to miss the delights of this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

The hotel is charming as are the staff. However, don't think we'd ever go back because there is no proper car park. When we arrived on a Friday night after a long drive all five spaces up the hill were in use so we parked on the main road overnight and had to move the car again at 9am. The room was small and only had a shower. That wasn't the problem. When I stay in a hotel I like a nice bed. This one was small and so squeaky every time I moved during the night I woke my partner .

The restaurant was unusual. You walk through the main door and your in it. Luckily we had a table on the Friday night by the window but on Saturday it was full and the table between the bar and the door looked terrible. The food was good but a bit over priced. About £80 for two inc bottle of wine, which consisted of a steak and salad starter for me and steak and soup starter for wife.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellaluna77, Owner at Hodgkinson's Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2010
Dear Smurfette

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we always value guest comments whether positive or negative.

Apologies for the squeaky bed and the disturbance it caused you. Being an iron frame bed, this problem was easily rectified with an Alan key and I only wish you had mentioned it whilst here so we could have corrected it for you straightaway.

I'm glad that overall you had an enjoybale stay and found the hotel and staff charming.

Being a townhouse building located right in the centre of the village, our parking facilities are limited and we certainly make no secret of this ( it is all explained on our webpages and at the time of booking) and the road where you parked is just one of the alternatives available. We also try from our web pages to make as many aspects of the hotel as visible as possible, so that you are content with what you are booking before you get here. There is even a short video which displays most aspects of our hotel, rooms, bar, food etc to give you a feel for a stay with us.

Our location and "quirkiness" are perhaps not for everyone but I know our hospitality, quality of food, service and care are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

Had an absolutely fantastic one-night stay here. Loved the hotel and its quirky feel - especially exploring the garden. Were in the Riber room which was stunning. Spent lots of time in the bath! Had lovely evening meal and one of the best ever hotel breakfasts in our room in the morning. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

It was hard not to stare around on arrival as it was like stepping back in time with its victoriana decor, fixtures and fittings. The Hotel has such a cosy and informal feel about it. Following a very warm welcome, we were shown to our respective rooms. Each room was beautifully decked out with tasteful antiques whilst providing all the modern amenities you would want from a hotel. Even the lovely soaps had been sourced to provide natural products. The tea and coffee making facilities were welcome as we had to get up early the next day. Unfortunately we were unable to sample their award winning breakfast . Oh well, we'll just have to go back again... !

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2009

A wonderful find, just an overnight stay and evening meal for my birthday. Tastefully decorated for Christmas, how wonderful to sit with our pre meal drinks in front of a roaring fire! Our room was delightful, windows on two aspects one faced the river, one the Matlock Baths Museum. The decor was Victorian and well designed. Very comfy bed and quality bed linen. The evening meal was excellent and breakfast too. The dining area is a perfect size for the hotel creating a lovely ambience. Highly recommend this cosy hotel especially at Christmastime.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hodgkinson's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hodgkinson's Hotel

Address: 150 South Parade, Matlock Bath, Matlock DE4 3NR , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Matlock Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Matlock Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned period townhouse with 8 individually designed guestrooms and 18-seater restaurant, centrally located in Matlock Bath, ideal for access to Matlock, Bakewell, Chatsworth House & ideal for exploring the Peak District and only 20 mins from the M1. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hodgkinson's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hodgkinsons Hotel Matlock Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hodgkinson's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.