We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Honeymoon Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hodgkinson's Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hodgkinson's Hotel to your Saves list
Hodgkinson's Hotel
150 South Parade, Matlock Bath DE4 3NR , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Matlock Bath
2 reviews
“Lovely Honeymoon Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Myself and my new husband stayed here during December for the first part of our honeymoon and we thoroughly enjoyed it. We had a lovely greeting when we arrived and felt very welcomed!

Chris was kind enough to recommend a good local walk to go on which we did - Chris even printed off the maps and instructions!

The rooms were really comfy and felt very homely. We liked spending some time in the living room communal area with a nice log fire and very cosy atmosphere - with some very lovely wine!

We had breakfast each day which was delicious, the cheese filled oatcake a particular favourite. The chef and waiting staff were really helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

We had dinner one of the evenings and it was really tasty and good sized portions - there was just the right amount of time between courses and we didn't feel rushed at all. We felt there was enough conversation with the host balanced with a nice intimate feel of the restaurant area.

We will most definitely visit again - thanks so much for a lovely time!

Room Tip: Eyam was the room we stayed in and felt spacious and with a nice view of Matlock Bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    20
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
30
100
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bromsgrove
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a small, intimate hotel. The owners have thought of everything, from bath robes and slippers, to shoe cleaning kit on the landing. They had even provided our dog with bowls and a blanket under the radiator. The bathroom was large and had a very handy table to put wash bags on. The whole place was spotless. Wonderful meals and a special wrapped sausage at breakfast for the dog. The hotel even boasts a cave! That is worth seeing if the owners have time. Our room was on the front but apart from an odd motorbike and a police siren there was no noise despite it being a busy road. A perfect place to stay, and one we hope to revisit next year.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in a room three floors up in The Mayfield,large comfortable bed,bathroom with an excellent shower,double glazed windows so no noise,fabulous nights sleep.Special touch with hand made biscuits,to have with coffee or tea out of bone china cups and saucers,this hotel has loads of antique/old looking pieces of interest of time gone by,which goes with the age of the hotel which clearly has history.Not ideal for those who cannot manage the stairs 45 to the 3rd floor,and 15 to the first floor.Evening meal at this hotel is excellent (compliments to the chef) and breakfast is equally as good.Chris and Zoe the owners are hands on and made us and our 2 friends more than welcome.Matlock Bath itself was quiet due to the time of year,but we were celebrating a birthday and what a pleasant place to have stayed.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front look on to the River Derwent,The Mayfield is excellent,and The Bretby also as goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent five nights at the Hotel for 1/2 term in October. It is unique and a far cry from the formulaic chain Hotels .It is a truly charming Hotel with many personal touches throughout.
The breakfast is prepared to order and was each day superb. It was however surpassed by the quality of the Dinner.The owners Chris and Zoe are on hand helpful and friendly but without being "in your face!". Chris even helped dry our Golden Labrador after his dip in the Derwent ! There are superb walks opposite and behind the Hotel. Coming back to such a warm and welcoming Hotel is great.The 2 rooms we had were individual and the level of comfort and cleanliness first class.I highly recommend this Hotel

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for 1 night at the start of our honeymoon before travelling up to stay in a cottage at Chatsworth. This is a one-of-a-kind hotel. I can't think of anywhere I've stayed quite like it. Walking in the door is like stepping back in time. The Victorian darkness of the place might take some people back to start with but once you've acclimatised,the uniqueness of where you are staying quickly becomes fascinating. The hotel has been renovated with an huge amount of care and even though you feel transported to an older time, the hotel and rooms have all the modern facilities and comforts that you would expect. The people were friendly, the food was excellent, and its worth staying just to have a poke around in the hotel's own caves.

Room Tip: The Riber is a good room for a romantic break with a free-standing bath perfectly sized for two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

Stayed for one night for a 'girlie' birthday celebration. The hotel has been restored to a very high standard with many original features but still providing all modern facilties. Every time you go up or downstairs you see something different and interesting. We had a lovely evening meal and an even lovelier breakfast. Chris and Zoe are excellent hosts and nothing is too much trouble. (In fact I could easily believe they were responsible for the firework display). Excellent choice of tea and coffee etc in rooms plus many extras over and above a standard hotel. Would definitely recommend for a weekend break, and if possible go for the Mayfield room - it's beautiful!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Hodgkinson's a year ago with family and had such a great experience we decided to book again for a last minute getaway.

Glad to report that Chris and Zoe have maintained the high level of service from our previous visit. Today we are back home and we are already missing the fantastic cooked breakfast. Chef Lee also cooked our dog Max a sausage on a daily basis.

If you are looking for a personalised experience away from the hum drum corporate style hotels then Hodgkinson's would be number one on our list. We look forward to coming back again next year :)

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hodgkinson's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hodgkinson's Hotel

Address: 150 South Parade, Matlock Bath DE4 3NR , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Matlock Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned period townhouse with 8 guestrooms and 18- seater restaurant, centrally located In Matlock Bath, ideal for access to Matlock, Bakewell, Chatsworth House & ideal for exploring the Peak District only 20 mins from the M1. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hodgkinson's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hodgkinsons Hotel Matlock Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hodgkinson's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.