We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, wonderful owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hodgkinson's Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hodgkinson's Hotel to your Saves list
Hodgkinson's Hotel
150 South Parade, Matlock Bath, Matlock DE4 3NR , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Matlock Bath
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, wonderful owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Stayed here as a birthday treat for my boyfriend. The owners were so helpful both via email and over the phone to make the arrangements and helped me add a few special surprise touches. The accommodation was clean and comfortable. We ate in the restaurant, the food was delicious and the staff couldn't do enough for us. Will definitely visit again!
Oh and check out the roof top garden and cave!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    20
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
31
112
8
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed with my family and we really enjoyed ourselves. We were taken care of really well and were made very comfortable. We were given good recommendations on where to eat and what to do. Would highly recommend this lovely establishment.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

last room booked ,which was the smallest room, nice selection of tea, and a biscuit, however no plug socket available for kettle without crawling all over floor, nice bathroom, squeaky bed though, which when paying close on a £100.00 you really do not expect (mind you to be fair I didn't expect to finding out how squeaky the bed was!), fantastic breakfast best ive had in a long time with a great selection, really cant think of a reason not to stay there, something was missing for me atmosphere wise, but wasn't in it long so maybe that is a little unfair, would probably stop again if other two places I now know I personally prefer are booked (but not the smallest room think its called the caulk.),staff friendly enough and one big advantage is not having to walk up the hills or along the river bank to get back to bed, although we where up two flights of stairs.

Room Tip: not the smallest room, (squeaky bed)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZoeandChris H, Owner at Hodgkinson's Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
We appreciate you taking time to review and give us feedback. We take all comments made during a guests stay very seriously and we always act on them immediately to make our guests stay as relaxing and comfortable as possible. We are sorry you did not experience a five star from us. We did fix the problem with the bed as soon as you mentioned it on checkout. As your stay was short, just for one night, you were not able to experience how quickly we address any comments made. Also to note we do have a plug sockets for all kettles in all rooms in convenient spots at the back or sides of the table/drawers where we place the tea trays. Unfortunately it seems you were not able to find the socket in your room and we have noted this and will place informaton on the teatray to indicate where the socket is so that no one has a similar experience as you did. Again we are sorry you did not feel you got the full Hodgkinson’s experience and atmosphere that most of our other guests have enjoyed during their stay. Perhaps you will need to come back, stay a little longer and try one of other individually designed rooms as each of our rooms are completely different everyone has a favorite!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife and my parents last month for the weekend. Thouroughly enjoyed our stay and we're made to feel very welcome. Rooms were immaculate and the evening meal was superb. There is plenty to do in the surrounding area and wouldn't hesitate to book again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
high peak, derbyshire, uk
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

A lovely oasis amidst the "delights" of Matlock Bath. Helpful owners, good rooms and good food. Dinner was excellent value with the wine list good and not too expensive and the breakfast was more than enough!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed at Hodgkinson's Hotel in March 2014. It was relatively quiet being out of season. The building was lovely (Art Deco style) Nice open fires etc. We had one of the premium rooms £170 per night...I think!
The room was spacious and clean and continued the Art Deco theme. The bathroom had a lovely roll top bath but no shower which was a little frustrating in the morning.
The breakfast was fantastic. selection of cereal, toast and full English (all good produce)
The owners were very friendly and helped us with some suggested walks and places to go.
Didn't eat at the restaurant in the evening.
Parking around 50m away.
Nice position in central Matlock Bath. A few places to eat within walking distance
All-in-all a good stay. Everything was very good but price was top end for the stay (out of season)
Would be a 5 if not for the shower and a little high on price.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Four of us stayed at Hodgkinson's Hotel for five nights on a business trip. Chris and Zoe were very helpful in the planning stages of our trip and looked after us very well while we stayed with them. Breakfast was perfect for filling us up for the busy day ahead and dinner on our first night was a great start to our stay.
The homemade biscuits on the tea tray in the bedrooms every day were one of our highlights!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hodgkinson's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hodgkinson's Hotel

Address: 150 South Parade, Matlock Bath, Matlock DE4 3NR , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Matlock Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Matlock Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned period townhouse with 8 individually designed guestrooms and 18-seater restaurant, centrally located in Matlock Bath, ideal for access to Matlock, Bakewell, Chatsworth House & ideal for exploring the Peak District and only 20 mins from the M1. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hodgkinson's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hodgkinsons Hotel Matlock Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hodgkinson's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.