We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful period experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hodgkinson's Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hodgkinson's Hotel to your Saves list
Hodgkinson's Hotel
150 South Parade, Matlock Bath DE4 3NR , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Matlock Bath
Weston-super-Mare, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful period experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The House was built in 1790 but it has been restored in early Victorian style, so you feel as though you're stepping into Cranford! It's very comfortable, and is a nice domestic scale, so you instantly feel at home. Zoe and Chris, the friendly owners, are lovely and really enthusiastic about their relatively new business. The bed, feather duvet and pillows were all very comfortable and even though it was very warm weather, the temperature was just right. Breakfast was scrummy, freshly cooked, and dinner was delicious: salad of fennel, rocket and almonds with a mustard French dressing (yummy) and fillet of sea bass with beautiful and plentiful vegetables. Only drawback is that as it's on the main road facing the river - nice views - the car park is at the back up an incredibly steep though short hill, so you need to unload before you park. But worth it, definitely. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    20
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
30
100
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northridge, California, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Lovely Victorian decor. The hotel is in a fantastic location with spectacular views of Matlock Bath. Our rooms were of a very high immaculate standard and totally spotless. The attention to detail was clear to see and the freshly baked biscuits on arrival was a lovely touch. Breakfast was included with many choices from a full English available to more healthy options! The hotel staff are friendly and go out of their way to make you feel very welcome. The hotel owners Zoe & Chris most definitely have found their niche and know exactly how to make your stay enjoyable and memorable. They are child and pet friendly. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is a lovely, warm, inviting hotel. We were delighted with our room, Bretby, which overlooked the main street. Central to all attractions in the area, especially Chatsworth. Chris and Zoe were engaging hosts. Zoe showed us to our bedroom which was a nice touch. Colin, the chef, was more than happy to accommodate my 15 year old daughter's requirements for the fine dining menu. We enjoyed a fine breakfast and an outstanding evening meal. We look forward to returning again ... And again.

Room Tip: Parking is up a very steep hill. I would suggest you drop your bags off before walking back down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

From the initial phone call, where the emphasis was on the dogs names, to the second we sadly had to say good bye, we were made most welcome. The new owners have just the right balance of helpful hints without overloading you with their own preferences. They genuinely want you to enjoy your stay as do ALL the staff. The Chef, Colin, pops out occasionally to discuss his fayre and ensure you are enjoying his offerings. It is difficult not to, as the standard is very high. The service is not fast, so sit back and enjoy fresh produce, lovingly cooked and well presented. Havering sold out of one item on the desert menu, he offered and prepared an apple crumble (not on the menu) from scratch. You don't get better than that. Rooms well appointed and clean, dogs slept in the room. To the best of my knowledge, we were the only guests with a dog. The hotel was fully occupied, but even so, there was plenty of space and staff to cater for all guests, who by the way seemed equally as pleasant as our hosts. the car park is small, but we were offered a token for the public car park 100 yards away, which worked well. Its a great place to base yourself, as we did, to explore the southern Peak District. We are well travelled and were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It even has it's own cave!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Me and my family met here for my dads 70th birthday and stayed one night, we were looked after very well, all the staff were very pleasant and our dinner and breakfast was fantastic, all our food was 5 star. The location was brilliant right in the heart of all of the atmosphere and plenty to do. I'd definitely go back had a lovely time :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Perfect setting and experience for family event. Eleven of us descended to stay and eat and we couldn't have wanted more. The owners were more than accommodating and the hotel is stunning, decorated to traditional excellence, without being too ostentatious. The food was a banquet served with charm. It was a shame to be there for only one night. I will definitely return to enjoy for longer next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Hotel was wonderful, full of character and charm. Mine Hosts couldn't be faulted....went the extra mile. Superb Dinner and Breakfast. Although I arrived somewhat earlier than check-in time, this wasn't a problem and I was made to feel very welcome. Plenty of tea, coffee and milk (which is not always the case) in the room. One of my family had a dog and he too was well catered for.

Room Tip: All my family were happy with their accommodation. Just state what you want. Even the dog was cont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hodgkinson's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hodgkinson's Hotel

Address: 150 South Parade, Matlock Bath DE4 3NR , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Matlock Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned period townhouse with 8 guestrooms and 18- seater restaurant, centrally located In Matlock Bath, ideal for access to Matlock, Bakewell, Chatsworth House & ideal for exploring the Peak District only 20 mins from the M1. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hodgkinson's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hodgkinsons Hotel Matlock Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hodgkinson's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.