We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loveliest place in my whole life” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hodgkinson's Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hodgkinson's Hotel to your Saves list
Hodgkinson's Hotel
150 South Parade, Matlock Bath DE4 3NR , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Matlock Bath
Saint Petersburg City, Russia
2 reviews
“Loveliest place in my whole life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We've chosen Matlock Bath to be our base for exploration of the Peak District, and it would not be an overstatement that the Hodgkinson's Hotel will be the most bright and warm memory that we bring home from that trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    20
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
30
100
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed here recently with friends and we were impressed by what we found. Chris and Zoe only took over the hotel earlier in the month, but their hospitality and sympathetic understanding of what people want from a hotel, meant that it was barely noticeable. The hotel retains its Victorian charm and all the rooms are different, but well-appointed, with very comfortable beds. Nice touches are the homemade biscuits on arrival and the hot water bottle in the drawer ( which we didn't need because the weather was lovely).
The double glazing is terrific and completely masks the busy road outside, which is as well as there is a biker meeting place in the vicinity! Having said that we thoroughly enjoyed biker spotting from our window!
The food was lovely - we can recommend both dinner and breakfast wholeheartedly. Colin the chef is most attentive in his desire to know how we are enjoying the food and the area and is a wonderful source of local knowledge, which is helpful for tourists unfamiliar with the area.
Not a good place to stay if you have trouble with stairs, but apart from that an unreserved recommendation!
We would definitely go back.....

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

After being let down by our hotel in Ashbourne we drove to Matlock looking for alternative accommodation. It was Bank holiday Friday and we were getting a bit anxious. We eventually found a welcoming hotel tucked away in Matlock.

We were welcomed by the new owner and offered complimentary drinks from the bar. Lovely welcome and the hotel was fantastic. Pricey but don't regret a penny. Coming from a Scot that says something!

Breakfast was lovely and good choice of menu too.

Good luck to the new owners and I think you are on to a winner with your new adventure.

Hope to return in the near future.

Room Tip: We stayed in two rooms of this hotel and both First class
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were told we could check-in from 2 but go no response when we rang the bell so had to explore Matlock Bath with all our bags. That said the rooms are really nicely decorated and the building is beautiful. Breakfast was a feast and great vegetarian option.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We decided to return to this hotel after a previous fabulous visit some time ago, and were initially a bit worried when we heard that new owners had just taken over that week. All our fears were dispelled however, as the new hosts, Zoe and Chris haven't changed the wonderful Victorian decor, or home from home hospitality, and Colin the chef is maintaining extremely high standards in the kitchen. We loved our stay this time just as much. A warm welcome, great food, large and comfy room that was spotless. Short walk from Matlock Bath train station for those who don't want to bring a car, and fabulous walks just outside the door.
Even on a busy Sunday, when the town is full of bike enthusiasts, it is a lovely calm place to rest weary feet after a steep walk around the surrounding almost Alpine scenery.
It is so refreshing to find somewhere genuine and charming, so many places have been, to my mind, ruined by bland corporate decor. Hodgkinson's is one of a kind and all the better for it, long may it continue and prosper, and we look forward to our next visit as soon as we can. If you do stay, it's really worth having the dinner there, very high quality, delicious local ingredients, and a very reasonably priced wine list. free wifi worked well

Room Tip: We have stayed in Bretby and Callow and both very nice, on the first floor. Website gives good idea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We hired out all 8 rooms as well as the restaurant (for one night) to host a special family (ages ranging from 1 to 70) celebration for 10/11 May 2013 and had an excellent weekend. The website does not do the rooms justice with all well presented with good space and nice interiors (including some nice antiques pieces). The service was extremely friendly and very helpful/accommodating without being intrusive. Breakfast was very good however the food in the evening was exceptionally good with everyone very complimentary of the chef. Dinner room/bar provides a very cosy setting. Location of the hotel is perfect for a break with the range of local attractions (we spent quite a bit of time in the Derwent Gardens down by the river as well as visiting the Heights of Abraham) within a short walking distance; and at the same time providing off street parking as well. The best compliment we can provide is that we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hodgkinson's Hotel for a night and it is a lovely, welcoming place to stay. Chris was there to greet us with a smile and a handshake and showed us to the Eyam room, a very clean country-styled room with large comfy bed and a view of the river and cliffs. The age of the property gives rise to an intriguing and interesting layout and there's a sizeable cave on the 1st floor that we were too scared to venture too deep into! Will try again next time though. The food was lovely, the restaurant cosy and the service second to none with plenty of nice touches. I chose this hotel to propose in and I don't regret it at all, Chris and Zoe helped it run smoothly and highlighted how much a caring human touch is often missing in hotels these days. Thank you both for a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hodgkinson's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hodgkinson's Hotel

Address: 150 South Parade, Matlock Bath DE4 3NR , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Matlock Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned period townhouse with 8 guestrooms and 18- seater restaurant, centrally located In Matlock Bath, ideal for access to Matlock, Bakewell, Chatsworth House & ideal for exploring the Peak District only 20 mins from the M1. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hodgkinson's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hodgkinsons Hotel Matlock Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hodgkinson's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.