We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm, five star luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hodgkinson's Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hodgkinson's Hotel to your Saves list
Hodgkinson's Hotel
150 South Parade, Matlock Bath DE4 3NR , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Matlock Bath
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Old world charm, five star luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We loved this lovely hotel situated in the heart of Matlock Bath deep in the Derwent River Valley. The hotel itself was steeped in history with a lovely and friendly proprietor Dianne and wonderful period interiors.

Stepping through the old façade was we entered an entirely different time though complete with all mod cons. Our spacious room on the top floor (a leisurely walk up) included a large comfortable bed, wonderful sitting area and fantastic tub. After our long drive we felt thoroughly welcomed by the lovely porcelain tea set and homemade biscuits. Our bed was big, comfortable and made up with the best quality sheets and a fluffy duvet. Truly blissful.

The breakfast offer was lavish and freshly prepared and the service was friendly and excellent. When one of our party couldn’t eat something in the fruit salad they offered us a delicious berry smoothie instead. Free parking is available at the top of the hill beside the hotel. We cannot recommend this hotel enough and look forward to returning the next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    20
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
30
99
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Lovely themed room, warm, comfortable and stylish. Home made biscuits on tea tray were a nice touch and so were the bath robe and slippers provided. Very comfortable and spacious room and maintained to a very high standard.

The food is amazing. Breakfast and dinner were fantastic and I would definitely recommend both. Special diets catered for, just inform them beforehand. Everything is freshly prepared to specification.

All in all a very comfortable stay and after a long day, it was a pleasure to return to this hotel. Great customer service. Do not be put off by the 8 rooms, they can handle a crowd and do it in style.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Was in the area with work with five colleagues so decided to stay at this boutique hotel. Located in a small town and a small hotel but really top class elegance. Whether the place is Victorian or Georgian I do not know, but the room I had was simply pure class: nice big bed, old fireplace, classic decor and no detail left unattended. A lovely lounge downstairs, also with a large open fire, is elegance itself. Dianne and the staff were so friendly too, and as for the food in the restaurant: fine dining at its best. We'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havering Greater London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed at the Hodgkinsons Hotel on business with 5 other colleagues between 26th and 27th November. The weather in the local area was awful with torrential rain, however on arriving at the hotel it’s like home from home. Our host Dianne was warm and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are very clean TV, Tea & Coffee, biscuits and free Wi-Fi. Breakfast was superb, lots of choice, to cater for all tastes and proper full English! We booked the restaurant for our second evening and again the food was very nice, the Chef has attention to detail and certainly knows his stuff!
If I return to the Peak area be it business of leisure I will stay here, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had a gorgeous weekend at the Hodgkinsons Hotel. A warm welcome and quickly shown to our lovely room, which was extremely comfortable and we loved the array of treasures in our room and throughout the hotel. We ate at the hotel on our first evening-simply delicious-the food was superb as was the service. The next day we were again sampling the delights from the Hodgkinson hotel kitchen-breakfast, a feast fit for a king!
We very much look forward to going back and highly recommend this super hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heanor, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at the Hodgkinson's Hotel 1 night over the weekend. The property is beautiful and the hotel family run. The atmosphere is warm and the hosts very welcoming. The restaurant is brilliant, the breakfast is huge serviced with freshly squeezed orange and coffee, the dinner is even better!!! Overall, 5 star service/hospitality in a 4 star property

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed with my friend a couple of weeks ago and from the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. The food was fantastic! The location was ideal to explore Matlock Bath. The staff made us feel very welcome indeed and we had a wonderful time. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends and family and I'm sure we will be back some day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hodgkinson's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hodgkinson's Hotel

Address: 150 South Parade, Matlock Bath DE4 3NR , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Matlock Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned period townhouse with 8 guestrooms and 18- seater restaurant, centrally located In Matlock Bath, ideal for access to Matlock, Bakewell, Chatsworth House & ideal for exploring the Peak District only 20 mins from the M1. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hodgkinson's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hodgkinsons Hotel Matlock Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hodgkinson's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.