We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, fresh food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of County & Station - CLOSED

County & Station
258-260 Dale Road, Matlock Bath, England
01629580802
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Dessert, English, Vegetarian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Belper, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good value, fresh food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Visited today for lunch. Food was freshly cooked and piping hot. Fab value. Friendly staff. Couldn't fault it. X

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    37
    19
    10
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great honest food and beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is a really old pub, an institution in the area.
Always great beer. The food has changed over the years, so we gave it a try last month, and had fantastic home made simple pub food - I had pie and chips and my partner had steak. Both excellent, and good value.
Recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Steak night a must!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We visited the County & Station on Friday - steak night. Such a friendly crowd in there and super food and service. The steak was fab and just what we needed after a busy day!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Just all round OK, I need an 3.5 rating ..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The actual place is very run down, but I foud the staff pleasent and helpfull. The food and selection of it is what I would describe as good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twatt, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Nice fresh homemade food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Me and my family went to the county and station 3 days in a row whilst on a trip from Scotland to Matlock Bath, on each occasion we tried different things off the menu and everything was lovely.

The first day I had steak cooked to perfection, the second I had fresh fish and REAL chips and on the last day I had a brunch grill off of the 2 for £10 menu which was great value and still came with real chips!

All in all we had a great time all 3 visits and enjoyed the use of the pool table and darts board, a highly recommended place and the staff couldn't be anymore friendly.

We are hoping to see the same friendly staff and locals when we visit for this year's fireworks.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed County & Station also viewed

Matlock Bath, Derbyshire
Matlock Bath, Derbyshire
 
Matlock Bath, Derbyshire
Matlock Bath, Derbyshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage County & Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.