We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable & welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Temple

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Temple to your Saves list
The Temple
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Temple Walk | Matlock, Matlock Bath DE4 3PG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Matlock Bath
Kidsgrove
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very comfortable & welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We were accepted here last minute by the lady owner who was so very pleasant on the phone, we were welcomed by the gentleman owner who was very pleasant and we instantly felt welcome, the hotel had a nice calm and clean feeling with some lovely touches and furnishing, the room was the same, very nice with lovely views of woodland from the window.
The bar area was very welcome after our day out and around Matlock bath, the barman was friendly and pleasant as we're the rest if the guests in the bar which was nice.
We sat out until 11pm with wine and crisps and had a great day and night.
Breakfast was wonderful, an assortment of wonderful food, very nicely cooked, red hot and not a sign of hair anywhere which seems to be a novelty these days! We were very full... All in all an absolutely amazing stay at the temple and as it was a treat for my wife's 30th, it will be a weekend that will never be forgotten and so thank you all at the temple, and we hope to be back soon! Dan Lisa & Grace x

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    51
    21
    5
    0
See reviews for
9
75
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

So if you like quirky, you may like this hotel. Obviously many people have. I prefer professional from the staff and comfortable from the accommodation, neither of which I got on my stay here.
The hotel no longer does any food in the evening. There is no proper reception. Much of the fabric of the building is scruffy, although there is clearly refurbishment taking place. The furnishing looks quite expensive (although a lot spent on some things, no wardrobe, just hangers over the tea tray area) - it appears to me like someone's hobby.
We arrived on a damp, chilly evening. The only member of staff available was the barman. The heating wasn't on in our room and didn't come on until the following morning. The cheery barman offered us a fan heater but then couldn't find it and gave up trying to help. He said that the only person who knew about the heating was the owner and that he couldn't be contacted. So we had a very cold, uncomfortable night. On complaining to the owner on our departure (if indeed it was he), we weren't offered any refund.
On the plus side, the room has a great view with armchairs set in the bay window and the shortbread biscuits were nice.
One more thing, if a hotel or any other building chooses to fly a flag (which is not compulsory) I suggest they fly one that's not in tatters.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisTemple, Owner at The Temple, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
It has come as no surprise to read this review more of a disappointment but we shall respond with reasons and answers for all the points you have brought up.
Before you wrote this response on Trip Advisor you did send us a personal email saying you were surprised that you were sent an automated email asking you to put a review on a website. The review requests are sent out automatically after checkout to all customers who provide an email address. In your email you did tell us that your review wouldn’t be a favourable one but you did want a refund. This we found to be threatening so we chose not to respond at that time. In this email you also make an assumption that we do not keep a log of complaints. As we are a husband and wife team with a small but close team of staff we tend to know what is happening most of the time and try our best to sort any problem as it arises. On the day in question we had taken a group of people to a friend’s 50th birthday party in Nottingham and we arrived back at 2am. Your room was across the corridor from ours and I can assure you that you were asleep at that point. Our very capable barman Keith had left us a note of your dissatisfaction and we went and looked at the heating immediately which obviously did the trick as it came on in your room before you awoke.
On the second evening both of us were in the bar and in your presence but at no point did you discuss your displeasures or your request for a refund with us. On leaving you weren’t actually present but your husband and I discussed the heating situation and he seemed perfectly happy with the explanation that I gave him and once again there was no mention of a refund.
We have taken a decision to remove wardrobes in some of our rooms to make room for seating areas which the majority of our guests prefer. You are quite correct in saying that there is renovation work going on and this will be a long project but we are taking great care to do it correctly. We do try to keep as much of this work away from our guests but this is not always possible. As for the flag we took this down on the first dry day after you departure. I have to walk down the length of a pitched roof to take it down and even though my wife has me well insured I do try to take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boras, Sweden
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

A small but nice hotel. I have stayed there several times and I find it really good. Very cosy pub with some nice beers. The full English breakfast is good. Nice location close to the centre of Matlock Bath.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The Temple is an excellent hotel and is good value. Our room (Room 6) was a good size and well appointed with a good breakfast tray (including shortbread biscuits) and a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was large including a bidet and lots of various shampoos, lotions to use. Breakfast was excellent. The bar is cosy and well used most nights if slightly pricey.One important point- the view from the Hotel is fantastic- because it's up a steep hill! (PS- the path directly opposite the hotel is the easiest way down to the town). (PPS- avoid weekends if you can- the town is overrun with bikers). Highly recommended

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed here during the summer which was nice as lovely view over the river and so we thought we'd have a winter mini break there too which the room was freezing even after askin for a heater which they was happy to provide just didn't throw out much heat so I'd advise sound for the summer but bring your thermals for winter
The bar has a lovely open fire
And the breakfast was lovely
And the staff are well friendly
Well be goin back again just firing the warmer months

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I've been bringing walking groups to this area for several years and I have always stayed at the Temple. I think this was the best stay yet now that many of the improvements to the building have been completed. My partner and I were very satisfied with our room, which was clean and spacious; and as with all previous trips we haven't been disturbed with any noise as the place sits up above the promenade.
Pride of place goes to the breakfasts which for variety, quality and quantity are among the very best I've had in any guest house. The other thing that draws us here is the real ale: for the beer drinkers (not to mention a super range of Scottish malt whiskies!) this remains one of the top destinations in Matlock area.
Finally the spacious (and free to guests) car park has always easily accommodated all of our group's vehicles whilst the town is also well-connected with public transport.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I love this hotel. It's nothing fancy, but man is it comfortable and they really look after you. Feels like you're a spoilt child gone home for the weekend!

The views from our room were phenomenal, and the bar needs bigging up a big with the open fire and choice of real ales. Breakfast filled us up without being too heavy and the home made jams were a special touch.

I'm sure they were really busy, but made us feel like the only people there with personal service and recommendations of where to go walking. Plus I LOVED the reminders stuck about the hotel about the clock changes...

Room Tip: Room 12 is the "poster" room for the double and has great views over the hills and the Pav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Temple

Address: Temple Walk | Matlock, Matlock Bath DE4 3PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Matlock Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Temple 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Temple reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Temple, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.