We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, comfortable hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Temple

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Temple to your Saves list
The Temple
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Temple Walk | Matlock, Matlock Bath, Matlock DE4 3PG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Matlock Bath
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Northampton,
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Friendly, comfortable hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Just back from a night's stay and it was lovely. Staff very friendly and helpful. Had dinner at the hotel which was fantastic. Lovely atmosphere, great breakfast, would definitely recommend. Amazing position right above Matlock Bath

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    57
    22
    5
    0
See reviews for
10
82
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Yorkshire England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I booked this stay through Hotels.com and after reading the reviews thought it looked a good option. Before we arrived we were warned about some decoration being carried out on the staircase but that it wouldn't disrupt our stay. On arrival , we arrived 3 hours early to find new carpets being laid and the owner was very apologetic ....it was our fault we were early so took a walk into Matlock. When we arrived back the fitters were still there and again the owner was very apologetic, it didn't matter to us at all... after all you have to do these jobs in the slow Months. We were showed to our room (14) which was absolutely gorgeous, a massive 6ft wide comfy bed clean white linen and a super sitting area with leather settee. The bathroom was amazing with large bottles of fancy toiletries just what I wanted! We ate in the bar and had the prawn and salmon linguine which was tasty and well presented and the next morning we had a super breakfast too. It is obvious that the hotel is undergoing major refurbishments but I wouldn't let it put you off because the bedrooms are gorgeous. I did read some reviews about the toilets in the bar needing work but to be honest my priority would be the sleeping areas anyway which have been done to a very high comfortable standard. This was a surprise for my Husbands Birthday and fitted the bill nicely. On the last night we found some lovely chocolates in our room and a note saying how sorry they were for the carpet fitters running late. I thought this was a lovely touch and this is a nice example of a hard working couple who are obviously putting their heart into their business and caring about their guests. I would definitely come back to this hotel in the future if coming to Derbyshire.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We have visited this hotel as part of a group for several years now and are always received in a friendly and helpful manner. The hotel is going through repairs and redecorating but retains its character.

As the reason for coming here is a group meal (or two), we have found the food excellent with service to match. Nothing seems to be too much trouble.

Our room was comfortable and bathroom spacious, with wonderful views across the valley. We expect to be back next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eckington, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

A late review of my wife and my stay at the Temple. We have stayed at this hotel on at least four occasions.
We have always found the owners and staff very friendly and attentive.
The food has been to a high standard - genuinely home cooked tastes.
We have stayed in a different room on each occasion.We have always found the rooms clean and well equipped for our stay.
The hotel is being upgraded by the refurbishment of bedrooms, the reception area and the landings. Every visit has seen a further improvement. I cannot believe some of the reviews we have seen! This hotel is privately owned, not a multi - group acquisition, so improvements have been made over a period of time rather than a shut down for several months with multi-hundreds of thousands spent in one go.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for valley view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sileby, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Just been to this wonderful hotel for a relaxing weekend break. The room was roomy, clean and beautiful , with fabulous views of the valley and river. The breakfast was wonderful with quality products used and all our requirements were accommodated. The service in the bar was faultless and the food to die for , with excellent relishes which gave a wonderful twist to the dishes. Previous reviews talk about shabby interiors and to be honest this is a real insult to the hard work , that is obviously going on, by the owners.
This is a very old building with character and charm , with a few creaking floorboards, decorated with lovely upholstery and with this character in mind. Thank you very much for a wonderful weekend where good old fashioned customer service and a pride in providing quality service and food prevailed. We will return very soon to this charming hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisTemple, Owner at The Temple, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I have been getting quite down recently with negative comments from customers when we are working so hard to improve the facilities. We know that we must take critisism from customers and listen to what they want from our hotel and we do listen and we do act. Having customers stay and interact with us is what we are all about, once again Thank you.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This was our second trip to The Temple Hotel in just over a year. This time we visited for the bonfire/illuminations package.

Have to say that the hotel seems even more thread-bare than last time, although at least the owners claim to have fixed the damp penetration that went into the roof. Unfortunately, the view from our room was of the road leading up to the hotel, and not the spectacular view of the valley that we had last year. This was quite disappointing, especially as it was the same full price as the room with the best view.

As other quests have commented, the hotel is in need of a major refurbishment. I can fully understand that they don’t have a lorry load of cash to complete the works straight away, but small things like emptying the overflowing ashtrays from the front of the hotel and pulling out the weeds from between paving stones and the - otherwise empty - flower boxes, would be a step in the right direction.

A plus point is the cosy bar. This has a nice atmosphere during the evenings and reasonably priced drinks.

As for the fireworks package, it’s true that you have the best view from the hotel, but the display doesn’t last more than 15 minutes and considering the expensive room and - very average - meal package, it’s not particularly good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisTemple, Owner at The Temple, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
The room you had on your previous stay was available that weekend but you booked a supaking size bed over a double bed online. You have obviously read my previous responses to reviews so you know we are doing a lot of work in the building.
The room you stayed in this time has had a nice new bathroom put in and we have almost finished room 7 which we said we were doing next. Room 10 has also been stripprd out ready for refurbishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed at the Temple Hotel on a few occasions in the past, went specifically on this weekend for the fireworks and illuminations.on arriving on Friday afternoon were shown to our room, king size bed and Riverview . Room was slightly shabby but very clean, after we unpacked we went to explore the main street. Had some excellent fish & chips and as it was raining ended up at the Fishpond pub to watch a live band, After a good night's sleep and a very hearty cooked breakfast we spent the day in chesterfield. A 3 course meal was laid on for us to enjoy before the fireworks display and the food was lovely,Chris ( the owner) had arranged for us to view the fireworks from the terrace. This was rounded off with coffee and chocolates.Sunday was another excellent breakfast, then checked out. A lovely break for us . Many thanks to all who looked after us at the Temple Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room with Derwent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Temple

Address: Temple Walk | Matlock, Matlock Bath, Matlock DE4 3PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Matlock Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Matlock Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Temple 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Temple reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Temple, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.